i7-860 good enough for a GTX 670/680?

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by Jumpem, May 13, 2012.

  1. Jumpem

    Jumpem Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2000
    Messages:
    10,743
    Likes Received:
    2
    I would be upgrading from a 5870. Would a stock i7-860 bottleneck a GTX 670 or 680?

    Does anyone have benchmarks for the new Nvidia cards on different CPUs?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - good Forum Date
    Any recommendation for a good Video/Graphics card for Photo Editing? Video Cards and Graphics Aug 17, 2017
    Is a GTX 1080 in a Dell Precision T3600 a good idea ?!?! Video Cards and Graphics Aug 17, 2017
    Nvidia and Remedy use neural networks for eerily good facial animation Video Cards and Graphics Aug 1, 2017
    GPU needed for 1440p/144hz, and is now a good or bad time to upgrade? Video Cards and Graphics Jul 2, 2017
    GPU just is having issues. Might be a good time to upgrade. Video Cards and Graphics Apr 12, 2017

  3. blastingcap

    blastingcap Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    5
    Your CPU won't bottleneck a GTX680 unless you are playing at something like 800x600 resolution or below. Most games are GPU-bottlenecked at any reasonable resolution.

    Edit: To clarify, there are a handful of games that are more CPU-bottlenecked such as Starcraft II, due to that game utilizing only 2 threads. So if you only play games like SC2 then maybe you are more CPU-bottlenecked. Feel free to flip through the picture gallery of games tested here to get a sense of whether you'd be CPU or GPU bottlenecked at 1920x1080: http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,...570K-HD-Graphics-4000-and-2500-reviewed/News/
     
    #2 blastingcap, May 13, 2012
    Last edited: May 13, 2012
  4. Jumpem

    Jumpem Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2000
    Messages:
    10,743
    Likes Received:
    2
    Resolution would be 1920x1200.
     
  5. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,870
    Likes Received:
    68
    In CPU limited games it will probably bottleneck a bit, but that isn't a problem because you get very good framerates anyway.
     
  6. blastingcap

    blastingcap Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah, I edited to add more information because I was curious about the extent of bottleneck. Flipping through the graphs shows that if you do CPU-bottleneck, it will usually be at high enough framerates anyway.
     
  7. LOL_Wut_Axel

    LOL_Wut_Axel Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,309
    Likes Received:
    1
    In some CPU-bound games it will bottleneck them a bit at stock. Is there any reason why you can't do a practical overclock to 3.4-3.8GHz? Doing that will remove the bottleneck in CPU-bound games almost entirely.
     
  8. Jumpem

    Jumpem Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2000
    Messages:
    10,743
    Likes Received:
    2
    A couple of reasons. I haven't had the time or interest in tweaking and overclocking since finishing college and starting a family. Second, I read some articles about potential data corruption from overclocking.
     
  9. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,870
    Likes Received:
    68
    I'd like to check these out if you still remember where you read them
     
  10. Jumpem

    Jumpem Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2000
    Messages:
    10,743
    Likes Received:
    2
    It was a two or three years ago. I don't remember where I read them.
     
  11. blastingcap

    blastingcap Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    5
    TBH, I don't oc my CPUs much, if at all, either. IMHO, it's not worth the extra few frames per second at the cost of extra heat/noise/power draw/degradation.

    That said, a little oc'ing with stock voltage is fine as long as your temperatures don't rise too much (a good CPU cooler and TIM will help with this, as will case airflow).

    But significant overvolting will degrade a CPU. There are some crazies out there who overvolt like no tomorrow... not sure why since it uses so much extra power for not that much more performance, and shortens lifespan of CPUs: http://www.anandtech.com/show/2468/6
     
  12. LOL_Wut_Axel

    LOL_Wut_Axel Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,309
    Likes Received:
    1
    Doing a simple overclock isn't time consuming.

    And the articles you read are completely inaccurate.
     
  13. Termie

    Termie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7,910
    Likes Received:
    44
    You will have some bottlenecking. I will be doing BF3 benchmarking with my new GTX670 and will post my numbers if you're willing to wait a few days to see them.

    The real impact will be on minimums, which is what you actually feel.
     
  14. Jumpem

    Jumpem Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2000
    Messages:
    10,743
    Likes Received:
    2
  15. Termie

    Termie Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    7,910
    Likes Received:
    44
    It would be between 6850 and 7870. Probably don't need an OC for D3.
     
  16. blastingcap

    blastingcap Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    5
    A 5870 is in-between the 6770 and the 7870. A little closer to the 7870 than the 5770. And Diablo 3 is almost certainly not going to be CPU bottlenecked at 1920x1200.

    A 7870 is ~33% faster than a 5870; a 5870 is ~67% faster than a 6770.
     
    #15 blastingcap, May 13, 2012
    Last edited: May 13, 2012
  17. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,870
    Likes Received:
    68
    Your 5870 should run Diablo 3 locked at 60fps. It's not a demanding game.
     
  18. Jumpem

    Jumpem Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2000
    Messages:
    10,743
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks.
     
  19. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    734
    For most games i7 860 is going to be fine, but there are some exceptions. Shogun 2 for example.

    In Diablo 3, i7 860 ~ i7 930 and those CPUs are capable of delivering 200 FPS.

    [​IMG]

    Basically, you'll be GPU limited, not CPU limited in this game.

    If you are upgrading solely to play D3, HD6870 or GTX560Ti is more than enough for 1200P. $400 GPU for D3 is massive overkill for 1920x1200.

    [​IMG]

    Even if you encounter an area with a ton of enemies, HD6870 has headroom from 90 fps to drop to 60 fps and still provide good playability.

    The value that HD6870 provides for D3 is astonishing. $160 for a card that's barely slower than a GTX480/HD7850! If you can find a used 5870, even better.
     
    #18 RussianSensation, May 13, 2012
    Last edited: May 13, 2012
  20. Stuka87

    Stuka87 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,664
    Likes Received:
    50
    Not sure if it was mentioned, but you will be bottlenecked in BF3 on 64 player maps. My 7950 (OC'ed) rarely hits 100% GPU utilization when I am playing. Your chip is a bit faster per clock than mine, but not enough to make up for 1.3Ghz per core in speed difference.

    But for most games, you would be fine. BF3 is more an exception than a rule. Even a 4.5GHz 2500K will run at near 90% CPU with a powerful enough GPU.

    For diablo 3 you could probably get away with a single core Pentium and still run it decently. Its only dual threaded, and not a CPU hog at all.
     
  21. aaksheytalwar

    aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    3,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    This