i7 3770k running too hot??

Tpearson02

Junior Member
Dec 4, 2012
5
0
0
#1
Hi im new to the forums and this is my first computer build from the ground up. Ie setting a cpu and cooler. I did try to enable tpu by flipping the switch on the mobo but in bios after it starts and shuts off a couple times it still only shows 3554 MHz nothing dramatic like 3.8-4 like i have seen ppl post on the internet.

P8z77 v pro
i7 3770k
Artic silver 5
Hyper 212+
Corsair 550d case stock fans no additional fans added. All doors on.

I spread a small line down the outer 2 grooves with thermal like most ppl recomemnded for the hyper212 coolers and a very small dot maybe a bb size in the center groove like some mentioned since the 212+ has more pipes and grooves then a 212.

Speccy
Cpu idle temps show ~40c
Cpu load temps show ~75-80c (running prime95 100% cpu)

Motherboard reads ~27c
Graphic card and hdds temps read 30-35c

CpuZ
Shows core speeds at 4100 MHz (just turbo boost?? Or mobo OC??)
Multiplier x41
Bus 100 MHz
Core voltage 1.144 V

Are these temps high?
Should i try and reset the cooler and thermal paste?

Any help appreciated thanks.



System at idle


After 5min or prime95. Core1 will usually get higher after about 15-20min to around 80c.

If you need more info just ask. Thanks.
 

Deders

Platinum Member
Oct 14, 2012
2,402
0
91
#2
For coolers with heatpipe grooves I just spread the paste evenly over the CPU, otherwise if the paste is too thick it can act as an insulator.
 

Kenmitch

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
7,225
160
126
#3
The 3770k is a hot running chip to start with. You could try redoing the TIM to see if it helps with the temps. It's possible you don't have enough TIM as the 212+ is not too TIM friendly.
 

Tpearson02

Junior Member
Dec 4, 2012
5
0
0
#4
Ya ill probably try and redo it just wanted to check first about the temps and what ppl are getting. I read on this forum somewhere that somone was runnning a 3770k with the hyper 212+ with 28-30c idle and 60c load at stock. But i wasent sure if the motherboard OC the 3770k because CpuZ shows it at 4.1 GHz but im not sure if that is the turbo or not because it shows 4.1 Ghz at idle and at load. I did flip the tpu switch and select OC tuner in the bios but after it ran the clock speed in bios still showed 3.5GHz. But runs at 4.1 GHz at idle and load according to CpuZ.

If it is motherboard OC i think that would be the reason for the increased temps but if not and its just the turbo i belive its kind of high compared to others.
 

Yuriman

Diamond Member
Jun 25, 2004
5,529
2
106
#5
Welcome to the forum!

Your results aren't unusual. Take some time to pick through some of the similarly themed threads, and perhaps even Idontcare's delidding thread, you'll find a wealth of information.
 

Rhezuss

Diamond Member
Jan 31, 2006
4,047
0
81
#6
Just finished installing my i7 3770K yesterday with a Hyper 212 EVO.
Idle temps are 30/22/24/26 or something like that...can't recall exactly and i'll try to get the right numbers during lunch.

For the TIM on the 212 EVO, I put 2 lines on the CPU center and with a toothpick I applied some TIM in between the heatpipes of the cooler to make sure it spread evenly.
 

tweakboy

Diamond Member
Jan 3, 2010
9,518
0
81
www.hammiestudios.com
#7
Like the others said.

That is a normal temp for your OCed Ivy. Don't sweat it their meant to run hot. Just dont get it to TJMAX which should be 105c. gl
 

dma0991

Platinum Member
Mar 17, 2011
2,723
0
0
#8
Ya ill probably try and redo it just wanted to check first about the temps and what ppl are getting. I read on this forum somewhere that somone was runnning a 3770k with the hyper 212+ with 28-30c idle and 60c load at stock. But i wasent sure if the motherboard OC the 3770k because CpuZ shows it at 4.1 GHz but im not sure if that is the turbo or not because it shows 4.1 Ghz at idle and at load. I did flip the tpu switch and select OC tuner in the bios but after it ran the clock speed in bios still showed 3.5GHz. But runs at 4.1 GHz at idle and load according to CpuZ.

If it is motherboard OC i think that would be the reason for the increased temps but if not and its just the turbo i belive its kind of high compared to others.
You can't compare your temps with others as there could be difference in ambient temps, yours could be higher. At stock, those are the temps(Idle: 30C / Load: 60C) that you should come to expect. Start your OC from scratch by resetting to default settings in BIOS, that way you have more control of what gets changed.
 

Tpearson02

Junior Member
Dec 4, 2012
5
0
0
#9
Ill go ahead and reset the defaults. And try again. So is my Cpu at the moment OC or not and the 4.1 clock speed is just the turbo? I posted CpuZ picks and the speccy info showing a base clock of 3.5 in the info but under the individual cores showing 4.1. Like i said before bios shows no OC when i looked last it shows the cpu running at the stock 3.5 but CpuZ show 4.1. Which is my confusion on if the mother board is OCing or if its just the turbo boost working.

Welcome to the forum!

Your results aren't unusual. Take some time to pick through some of the similarly themed threads, and perhaps even Idontcare's delidding thread, you'll find a wealth of information.
Thanks i read it and will keep that in mind but id rather not void the warrenty and take the risk at the moment on my first build. Not to worried about OCing except for the asus auto OCing if i can get it to work. Unless it already is but from what im seeing i doubt it.
 
Last edited:

Rhezuss

Diamond Member
Jan 31, 2006
4,047
0
81
#10
Temps as of now: 27/17/23/24 on idle...
Damn that's low lol
 

Termie

Diamond Member
Aug 17, 2005
7,951
0
91
www.techbuyersguru.com
#12
OP, what's your idle clock and voltage? If that first picture is any indication, your idle clocks are not correct, which would contribute to higher temps.

They should be 1600MHz, with voltage under 0.9v. I'd advise that you reset the BIOS on your motherboard - it sounds like you made a tweak that was not quite correct.

Your load temps and voltage are exactly right for a 3770k with a Hyper 212+. Do not bother with reapplying the TIM. From what you said, you did it correctly.
 

Idontcare

Elite Member
Oct 10, 1999
21,126
0
0
#13
OP, what's your idle clock and voltage? If that first picture is any indication, your idle clocks are not correct, which would contribute to higher temps.

They should be 1600MHz, with voltage under 0.9v. I'd advise that you reset the BIOS on your motherboard - it sounds like you made a tweak that was not quite correct.

Your load temps and voltage are exactly right for a 3770k with a Hyper 212+. Do not bother with reapplying the TIM. From what you said, you did it correctly.
He has an ASUS mobo, this is a common problem with ASUS mobos.

OP, your mobo has no doubt been setup to default to using "Extreme" mode for its "Phase Control" setting in the BIOS. The downside of this default setting is that it prevents the chip from downclocking itself correctly when the processor is idling.

This won't affect your load temps (reapply your TIM, use a little more IMHO, and reseat the HSF for that), but your idle temps may improve if you set the Phase Control to "Optimal".
 
Apr 22, 2012
20,395
0
106
#14
Asus (and Gigabyte for that matter) also have the issue of default turbooverclocking. Instead of the 4/3/2/2 they do 4/4/4/4.
 

Tpearson02

Junior Member
Dec 4, 2012
5
0
0
#15
Fyi. After reading another post i reset the cooler because the fins on the heatsync werent even warm after 30-45min and cpu temps running at 80c with prime95.

Well i just re set the cpu and cooler with a little less thermal paste then before since there was a tiny bit of overflow. Only did 2 small lines like recommended for the original 212 with less pipes since the extra dot accounted for the overflow maybe.

Ill check the phase settings etc. i had selected what i thought was default settings before but ill check anyways. Those speeds were at default but i did change one setting from manual to xmp which supposdly increases cpu and memory but only noticed a memory increase when i selected it.

Thanks for the info. Ill post again when i get some idle and prime95 temps after 15-30min.
 

Spaceme1117

Junior Member
Nov 19, 2012
19
0
0
#16
Assuming the heatsink is seated and the TIM is not too thick, those temperatures under load seem to be a bit high.

Intel uses a relatively thick TIM between the heat spreader and the actual chip. If it is too thick, the CPU will run hotter than it should. And some people have had this problem.

You could lap bot the heat sink surface and the heat spreader surface.

You could also try replacing the TIM with a better and thinner TIM between the heat spreader and the actual chip. This involves using a razor blade to cut the adhesive which holds the metal heat spreader to the chip, cleaning off all of the Intel TIM and replacing it with a better TIM. It is not for the faint of heart but can drop temps by 10 C.

Do google search and you can find some DIY guides on how to do this.
 

Tpearson02

Junior Member
Dec 4, 2012
5
0
0
#17
Everything seems to be the same running at idle after applying new TIM but under load the temps look alot better. Still need to figure out why its not downclocking at idle.

EDIT:found out why it was not downclocking at idle. I had set in the control panel under system to high performance when i set the computer to never go to sleep. After changing it to power saver it automatically downclocked to 1.6GHz.

How do the temps look now? And if i use the Asus AI suite turbov to OC the cpu what should the temps be safe at underload? Ive read in the forums about it getting up to 4.5GHz in some cases but running at 85-100c at the same time.

New default Temps and clock speeds----All default(hit F5 in Asus uefi for optimized defaults. Only one i could find)



Prime95 temps ( clock speed and info stayed same as above)


Ai overclock tuner changed from Auto to XMP(cant disable ai overclock only Auto Manual or XMP)
Idle temps


Load temps


Setting the phase control from Auto to optimized did nothing. I tried the cpu phase control at optimized and the dram phase control to optimized both made no difference and did not help bring down clock speed while at idle.

So far i think resetting the cooler and thermal paster helped alot but i have yet to run it underload for more then 30 min.
 
Last edited:


ASK THE COMMUNITY