i5 8400 Bclk overclocking

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by omeds, Oct 6, 2017.

  1. omeds

    omeds Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi forum,


    I couldn't get hold of 8700k at launch so have bought an i5 8400 until later in the year. I have an ASUS Strix Z370-E motherboard that states it has 'ASUS Pro Clock Technology that enables up to 432MHz base clock overclocking'. The diagram seems to indicate a dedicated 'Pro clock' chip that I assume is a base clock generator. Am I safe to assume this means I can OC the bclk without fear of frying components??

    Thanks guys
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Bclk overclocking Forum Date
    Is a small BCLK overclock a bad idea? CPUs and Overclocking May 15, 2016
    Drawback to overclocking via BCLK? (X79/X99) CPUs and Overclocking Jan 2, 2016
    Hypothesis on BCLK overclocking on Skylake CPUs and Overclocking Dec 22, 2015
    [Techspot] BCLK overclocking non-K Intel Skylake CPUs is now possible, tested here CPUs and Overclocking Dec 11, 2015
    Skylake-EP BCLK overclocking? CPUs and Overclocking Aug 16, 2015

  3. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38,184
    Likes Received:
    1,916
    Try it and see? Plenty of us are interested in any Z370 board with a BCLK generator chip that can OC locked CFL CPUs.

    I've read that ASRock boards with "Hyper BCLK Engine II" support it, but it doesn't appear that the ASRock Z370 ITX/ac board I ordered does. Oh well. (I also ordered the i3-8100. Would be cool if I could get that to 4.6-5.0Ghz.)
     
  4. omeds

    omeds Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well that's the thing, I'd like to adjust bclk without frying components.. I have NVMe drive installed etc.

    On another note, I just pushed memory from 3200mhz to 3600mhz CL14 and it didn't even blink. No tweaking at all, it just works, very impressed.
     
  5. omeds

    omeds Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    7
    So far, the best I can get out of it is 4.1 single core turbo, with 2, 3, and 4 at 4.0, and 3.9 for 6 cores. Memory at 3700 cl14.
     
    psolord and johnny5bravoguru like this.
  6. johnny5bravoguru

    johnny5bravoguru Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you can run this cpu @ 4.9ghz on all 6 cores full time? This would make this a worthwhile purchase for me. What backclock are you running? I am getting the Asus Strix Z370-H which has great OC features and as I understand it, allows independent bckclock manipulation.
     
  7. johnny5bravoguru

    johnny5bravoguru Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you can run this cpu @ 4.9ghz on all 6 cores full time? This would make this a worthwhile purchase for me. What backclock are you running? I am getting the Asus Strix Z370-H which has great OC features and as I understand it, allows independent bckclock manipulation.
     
  8. StrangerGuy

    StrangerGuy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    8,357
    Likes Received:
    75
    I wouldn't mind BCLK OCing provided that Speedstep still works.
     
  9. omeds

    omeds Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ha I wish. No it runs at 4.1, 4.0, 3.9 depending on the core count.

    Unfortunately I either can't figure it out, missed a setting to dsync frequencies, or 'Pro clock' isn't what I was hoping it was - like the Asrock boards that had a separate clock generator. I can only get 103 bclk out of it which seems normal.

    On the plus side, it's ~8% faster than my previous 4770k oc'd in ST, and ~22% faster in MT benchmarks.
     
    Burpo likes this.
  10. Coco10

    Coco10 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did it hit 4.0Ghz in all 6 cores out of the box in Turbo
    ? Or need adjustment from bios
     
    #9 Coco10, Oct 6, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2017
  11. elhefegaming

    elhefegaming Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    48
    So i have an Aorus Ultra Gaming and and 8400, how much OC can I do on it?
     
  12. LTC8K6

    LTC8K6 Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    25,576
    Likes Received:
    817
  13. elhefegaming

    elhefegaming Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2017
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    48
  14. PeterScott

    PeterScott Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    396
    40 Multiplier is for ONE core.

    All core is 38 Multiplier.

    I don't know how much rounding he is doing, but it sounds like all the BCLK OC he is getting 102.7 MHz (instead of normal 100 MHz).

    Which is what I saw just about everywhere. Intel shuts it down if you get over 103 MHz BCLK, so the external clock doesn't do squat on locked processors.
     
  15. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38,184
    Likes Received:
    1,916
    The UEFI on my ASRock Z370 ITX/ac board, with an i3-8100, normally has a max clock of 3.6Ghz, 36 multi. When boosting the BLCK, the highest it will go (UEFI-enforced) is 102.7. But when you do that, the UEFI takes off a multi off the top, so your max multi becomes 35. Making the BLCK OC basically pointless.

    Intel has CFL really locked down for OC.
     
  16. LTC8K6

    LTC8K6 Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    25,576
    Likes Received:
    817
    I'm not sure when it was stopped, but with Haswell and a Z board, the turbo multiplier worked for all cores on locked Haswell chips, desktop and Xeon.

    Here is my 1231-V3 with all cores at 3.8 running Burn Test.

    http://www.mediafire.com/convkey/40ea/o3gtne7lgxkuu3z6g.jpg

    This worked with all locked Haswell chips with a turbo multiplier, such as a 4790 running all cores at 4.0