Question i5 4570 and ryzen 2600 configuration large power consumption differences (solved)

bobalazs

Junior Member
Jul 31, 2019
16
2
41
i5 config is : Asrock H81M-VG4 i5 4570 2x8gb ddr3 1600 mhz

intels cpu is 84w tdp,

amd config is: Gigabyte GA-b450M S2H Ryzen 5 2600 2x8 Gb ddr4 3200 Mhz

amd's is 65w.


the mobo+cpu+memory changed only and also added 2 more 12 cm case fans.

the b450 chipset supposedly eats about 5W.
he B450 chipset runs a lower powered integrated controller which reduces the idle power draw by just under 2 W, from 6.8 W to 4.8 W.

ddr4 has lower power consumption than ddr 3 supposedly

The Intel configuration's power consumption was 39W idle intel power picture
The Amd's was 76W Amd power picture
Everything running on full auto, no OC, changed clocks to default fix 3400 Mhz, no difference.
power consumption in bios 84w bios power consumption picture

Aida64 FPU stress test

Intel 88W intel aida fpu
Amd 123W amd aida fpu


Furthermore, when i left everything on auto in bios, raised the CPU clocks to 37.75, I got 170W from the meter by benchmarking with linpack only. https://logout.hu/dl/upc/2019-08/110225_explorer_2019-08-03_04-34-00.thumb.png
https://logout.hu/dl/upc/2019-08/110225_20190803_043428.thumb.jpg
 
Last edited:

moinmoin

Golden Member
Jun 1, 2017
1,613
1,510
106
What GPU is your AMD system using? Do you use the iGPU on the Intel system? This may account for some of the difference.
 

bobalazs

Junior Member
Jul 31, 2019
16
2
41
Aida doesnt seem stressfull since Computerbase measure higher power at full load, but for idle power they measure 48W with a 2080TI as GPU and a MSI X470 as MB, so something is obviously not right in your setting.

What could be wrong? Is there an anomaly?

I also made more measurements.
FUrmark full load, cpu idle Intel 172 W Amd 234W

About same graphics settings, high 1080p Witcher 3
Intel 115-145W Amd 194-239W
GTA V
Intel 155W Amd 176W
ETS2
Intel 120W Amd 114W
 

ItsAlive

Golden Member
Oct 7, 2005
1,147
9
81
Here are a couple things I would try:
1. Make sure your BIOS is updated.
2.Check voltages in BIOS as stock voltage on AMD can be set much higher than needed when it is set to auto by default. I never leave voltages set to auto for this reason.
3.Check to make sure cool'n quiet is enabled in BIOS.
4.If running windows 10 make sure that balanced power plan is selected as AMD doesn't seem to downclock properly with any other power plan setting.
 

bobalazs

Junior Member
Jul 31, 2019
16
2
41
I'm stumped.
All settings are on auto in bios and were when testing. Tried undervolting, tried to change power plan settings in windows, tried manually settings cpu clocks to default 3400 Mhz, even tried to set cTDP to 65W (btw that made power consumption higher) when set CTDP to 25W power c. was same.
Bios is updated, to the one before last, because i heard last one has some security issues. I also have windows 8.1 on secondary ssd, the power values are the same.
 

ItsAlive

Golden Member
Oct 7, 2005
1,147
9
81
Can you get a voltage reading while idle? Either through bios or through windows using CPUZ or Hardware INFO64?
I'm stumped.
All settings are on auto in bios and were when testing. Tried undervolting, tried to change power plan settings in windows, tried manually settings cpu clocks to default 3400 Mhz, even tried to set cTDP to 65W (btw that made power consumption higher) when set CTDP to 25W power c. was same.
Bios is updated, to the one before last, because i heard last one has some security issues. I also have windows 8.1 on secondary ssd, the power values are the same.
 

bobalazs

Junior Member
Jul 31, 2019
16
2
41
Sure thing.
Currently the wattmeter says 72W and CPUz says 0.78V 1546Mhz on idle.


well to be honest when i pushed validate on cpu-z wattmeter jumpted to 130+W
https://valid.x86.fr/r8xgbb

This is also very odd, i made some pictures where taking a screenshot with sharex the power consumption was higher 119W as you can see on the images, when that given window was highlighted for screenshotting. ( left the selection on for about 1 minute to take pictures, and power consumption was that value 119W, while you can see in my rainmeter plugin that cpu and gpu usage is fairly low - 1% cpu and 1% gpu.
images:
https://logout.hu/dl/upc/2019-08/110225_20190802_110736.thumb.jpg
https://logout.hu/dl/upc/2019-08/110225_20190802_141218.thumb.jpg
https://logout.hu/dl/upc/2019-08/110225_20190802_141229.thumb.jpg
https://logout.hu/dl/upc/2019-08/110225_20190802_141243.thumb.jpg


Edit

I repeated with sharex running for half a minute and i see one core going to max hence the 119W power consumption

So that means, when utilizing one core (core number 4 in this example) it means an extra 45Watts compared to idle.
 
Last edited:

Seba

Golden Member
Sep 17, 2000
1,407
44
91
The AMD system uses so little power that your power supply works with a load at which it has an atrocious efficiency. :)
 

Hitman928

Platinum Member
Apr 15, 2012
2,537
1,708
136
Can you check CPU package power through HWinfo or Ryzen Master to see how much the CPU is using under these conditions?
 

Hitman928

Platinum Member
Apr 15, 2012
2,537
1,708
136
Seems like your system is not idling properly. The load power seems fine assuming XFR is in effect. You mention only the cpu/mb/ram was changed so I'm assuming the hard drive is the same. Did you wipe out Windows entirely and start with a fresh Windows install? Did you install all the chipset and AMD drivers?
 

bobalazs

Junior Member
Jul 31, 2019
16
2
41
This is not due to OS. The same power consumption can be seen on both windows 8.1 and windows 10. Hard drive, the 2 ssds, the gpu is the same. only added 2x 12 cm pc case fans thats all the difference. aside from the mobo, cpu, ram change.
 

ItsAlive

Golden Member
Oct 7, 2005
1,147
9
81
If your cpu is only consuming 21w at idle and the chipset uses approximately 5w then something else is eating 50w. Are you running multiple monitors by chance? GPU Drivers up to date?
 

bobalazs

Junior Member
Jul 31, 2019
16
2
41
If your cpu is only consuming 21w at idle and the chipset uses approximately 5w then something else is eating 50w. Are you running multiple monitors by chance? GPU Drivers up to date?
I am running multi monitors, and gpu core is at 139 Mhz Memory 405 Mhz, the very minimum this card can do, and it is at 1% load. (1060 3gb)
The PC's power cable goes into watt meter, the monitors are plugged elsewhere.
 

ItsAlive

Golden Member
Oct 7, 2005
1,147
9
81
Theres a known bug with multimonitor setups and high power consumption on some cards. Try using 1 monitor and see if that lowers the power consumption.
 

bobalazs

Junior Member
Jul 31, 2019
16
2
41
That would only be true if this was one of those affected cards, and if the following were true, increased power consumption caused by higher gpu and vram clocks.
 

coercitiv

Diamond Member
Jan 24, 2014
3,731
3,516
136
Got home, fired up the AMD system with the following specs:
  • R5 1600X
  • MSI B350M Mortar
  • 2x8GB 3200CL16 RAM
  • RX Vega56 Sapphire Pulse
  • 1x NVME SSD
  • 4x 2.5" HDDs
  • 3x 120mm fans
  • 650W Seasonic Focus Gold PSU
Total system power consumption using a watt meter at idle:
  • Balanced power plan: 46W
  • Power saving plan: 37W
Went back into BIOS, disabled both Cool'n Quiet and Global C-state control.
  • Balanced power plan: 66W
  • Power saving plan: 56W
Something in your system is not entering power saving mode properly. As @ItsAlive already mentioned, I would start with a single monitor setup, and continue with forcing BIOS power savings: choosing Enabled instead of Auto for Cool'n Quiet and Global C-state control (this may have another name on your board).
 
  • Like
Reactions: krumme

bobalazs

Junior Member
Jul 31, 2019
16
2
41
Got home, fired up the AMD system with the following specs:
  • R5 1600X
  • MSI B350M Mortar
  • 2x8GB 3200CL16 RAM
  • RX Vega56 Sapphire Pulse
  • 1x NVME SSD
  • 4x 2.5" HDDs
  • 3x 120mm fans
  • 650W Seasonic Focus Gold PSU
Total system power consumption using a watt meter at idle:
  • Balanced power plan: 46W
  • Power saving plan: 37W
Went back into BIOS, disabled both Cool'n Quiet and Global C-state control.
  • Balanced power plan: 66W
  • Power saving plan: 56W
Something in your system is not entering power saving mode properly. As @ItsAlive already mentioned, I would start with a single monitor setup, and continue with forcing BIOS power savings: choosing Enabled instead of Auto for Cool'n Quiet and Global C-state control (this may have another name on your board).

I'll check out the settings, it is an auto right now. windows power plan settings made no difference.
Windows power plans result in the following:

High performance: 79W
Power Saver: 72W


this is the gpu setting i made now:



windows: power saver power plan

watt meter: 74 W
 
Last edited:

ItsAlive

Golden Member
Oct 7, 2005
1,147
9
81
I think your cpu is idling fine, if its only consuming 21w something else is using the power, what else differs between the amd and intel motherboards? Built in wifi/bluetooth? Audio? any of these could be pulling the extra power.
 

bobalazs

Junior Member
Jul 31, 2019
16
2
41
I think your cpu is idling fine, if its only consuming 21w something else is using the power, what else differs between the amd and intel motherboards? Built in wifi/bluetooth? Audio? any of these could be pulling the extra power.

Turns out the +2HDD +1 SSD +3 Case fans + sound card all added up, and are responsible for the +18-20W extra power consumption.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: ItsAlive

thor23

Member
Jul 13, 2019
74
20
41
What could be wrong? Is there an anomaly?

I also made more measurements.
FUrmark full load, cpu idle Intel 172 W Amd 234W

About same graphics settings, high 1080p Witcher 3
Intel 115-145W Amd 194-239W
GTA V
Intel 155W Amd 176W
ETS2
Intel 120W Amd 114W
Being a faster cpu it can feed your gpu more work to do increasing power that way, what if you enable vsync or lock fps. You're still using too much power at idle though maybe your gpu isn't going into power saving mode?
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY