i5-3570k. CPU doesn't downclock when idle.(overclocked)

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by lilvaratep, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. lilvaratep

    lilvaratep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've overclocked my 3570k to 4.2ghz @ stock 1.2v. I have EIST enabled, Turbo boost enabled, C1E SUPPORT enabled, and Intel C-States enabled with c-state package limits on auto. The volts as well as the multipliers dont downclock when they are idle. the only way I could get the volts to automatically reduce is if I set the volts to auto, but then it will overvolt above 1.2 when on load. Any way to overcome these problems?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - 3570k downclock idle Forum Date
    Intel core i5 4690 vs 3570k for gaming. CPUs and Overclocking Apr 1, 2017
    i5 3570k upgrade CPUs and Overclocking Jan 19, 2017
    i5 3570k upgrade advice? CPUs and Overclocking Dec 26, 2016
    i7 2600 vs. i5 3570k CPUs and Overclocking Sep 29, 2016
    OCed i5 3570k downclocking when idle? CPUs and Overclocking Jan 22, 2014

  3. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    8
    What is your mobo?

    FWIW on ASUS mobo's if you leave the mobo to its default settings then it will default the VRM Phase control to "Extreme" in which case the mobo never allows the CPU to reduce its multipliers when C1E and EIST call for reducing the multiplier at idle.

    To get around this you must go into the BIOS and manually set the phase control to anything other than extreme or auto, try the optimal or standard settings and see if it improves.
     
  4. lilvaratep

    lilvaratep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have msi gd65 z77


    I believe the phase control is off. does this need to be on?
     
  5. TJCS

    TJCS Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, the minimum processor state in Windows Power Options should be set to 5%.
     
  6. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sorry, I have no experience with MSI mobos...you might be better off asking about this in the Motherboards subforum.
     
  7. lilvaratep

    lilvaratep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    as for power options in windows7, the only processor option available is to set the cpu cooling, which is on active. the state options dont show up for me, but in the registry i believe they are 5% for min and 100% on max
     
  8. dma0991

    dma0991 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't adjust much on my board. Increase clockspeed, set voltage to manual, dial in the required voltage, adjust RAM speed if necessary and check if EIST and Cstates are enabled. CPU-Z will show that the clockspeed only ramps up under load. Under idle conditions, it will remain at 1.6GHz.

    Here's my overclock profile for the MSI Z77A-GD65 but it is only suitable for BIOS 10.6. Put it in a thumbdrive and load it from the BIOS. Be aware that it is set at 4.5GHz@1.295V. If yours ramps down with my BIOS, tweak it to your preferred clockspeed and voltage.
     
  9. lilvaratep

    lilvaratep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh, I never updated my BIOS - should I do that? I think it's currently on 10.5 but will check when I get home. How would I go about updating the bios?

    Did you set package limit on c states or did you set it to auto? also, what about your C1E support?
     
  10. dma0991

    dma0991 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Probably you should but it shouldn't be a problem either way. Those settings worked fine with my original BIOS which way older than 10.5, A2. The only thing is that my older OC profiles wouldn't work with the newer BIOS so I had to create new ones for the updated BIOS.

    Download the BIOS file from MSI's website. Preferably 10.6 even though there is a 10.7. I can't guarantee that it will work if it isn't of the same BIOS version. Place it in a thumbdrive and update(right side, middle) it through the BIOS, there is an option where it asks you if you'd like to update from a single file. Cstates is on auto, CIE enabled, don't quite remember them.

    The downside to an MSI motherboard is that it doesn't support offset voltages so it will have a fixed voltage value that you've set. Here's another OC profile that suits the 4.2GHz@Stock, just made it. I did a brief test with CPU-Z and Prime95 and it ramps down as per usual. No guarantees on stability at those settings, don't have much time to actually test it thoroughly.
     
  11. lilvaratep

    lilvaratep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh, so this msi board will be a money guzzler when overclocking?
     
  12. dma0991

    dma0991 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think so. If not mistaken, from review I've read about this board, it consumes less power than other competing brands. It was even tested at its overclocked settings. Having said that, it isn't a stellar performer when it comes to benchmarks.
     
  13. lilvaratep

    lilvaratep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you have the time, do you mind screenshotting your cpu overclock settings? as well as the cpu features(with the c1e and intel c-state configs)
     
  14. FalseChristian

    FalseChristian Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,325
    Likes Received:
    0
    My i5 2500K at 4.5GHz doesn't throttle down to 1.6GHz anymore. It stays at 4.5GHz all the time and I don't remember changing anything in the BIOS lately. But that's exactly what I want, anyhow.
     
  15. SaurusX

    SaurusX Senior member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    0
    MSI boards have an Enhanced Turbo function in the bios that causes this. Turn it off and I think you'll see the CPU cycle down when idle.
     
  16. lilvaratep

    lilvaratep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    enhanced turbo is off. its off by default
     
  17. lilvaratep

    lilvaratep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried both of your profiles to no avail. I'm starting to think that I'm screwed!

    As for cpu lifespan and energy/money-saving, does keeping it overclock with no downclock when idle waste a lot of cpu lifespan as well as energy?
     
  18. dma0991

    dma0991 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless the BIOS profile is tied to the specific machine it is created from, it should work if you had updated the BIOS to 10.6. There is no reason why you shouldn't turn on the power saving features.

    As you could see from the screenshots(1, 2), it is pretty much the basic adjustments. If all else fails, just press the OC Genie button. It should overclock it to 4.2GHz at a certain voltage that is still within the safe limits.
     
  19. lilvaratep

    lilvaratep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    could it be because my xmp profile is set to enabled?

    just noticed that your core switching frequency is on auto as well as your core voltage - my core voltage is set to 1.2, if it's on auto, the voltage goes above 1.2 which isn't what I want. i never saw the core switching frequency option, gonna have to check that.

    Update: mine looks pretty almost identical to yours...


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    #18 lilvaratep, Nov 19, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2012
  20. dma0991

    dma0991 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    My setup is only an adjustment to a few parts from the default settings. My original settings are not auto, they are fixed at 1.295V for a 4.5GHz overclock. I simply created a setting that is similar to your requirement, 4.2GHz@Auto.

    If you set the voltage manually to 1.2V it will remain there but I can't guarantee that it is for the best. If the auto settings suggests that it needs >1.2V for 4.2GHz, it probably needs it. Setting the voltage at auto will result in a more stable system than starving the CPU of the required volts.
     
  21. lilvaratep

    lilvaratep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    wouldn't setting the voltage to auto be dangerous/heat up the cpu? i seem to be doing fine at 1.2v.
    any word on why my cpu isnt downclocking?
     
  22. Jimzz

    Jimzz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4,083
    Likes Received:
    2
    Its not down clocking if its like my board.

    I have a Biostar TZ77A board and when you overclock it locks the setting you set. The only way to overclock on my board and allow it to lower down is set the Turbo up settings higher. So I have mine set to go up to 4.2Ghz instead of the default 3.8Ghz.
     
  23. dma0991

    dma0991 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Voltage on auto is better as the requirement is regulated on the fly. If it is within the 1.2V range, I wouldn't even bother with manual voltage. Unless of course you're doing overclocks like mine where manual voltage is the only way to go. No idea on why yours isn't downclocking. Mine works just fine.
     
  24. lilvaratep

    lilvaratep Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, i am overclocking to 1.2v and I've watched some videos and read some reviews that the cpu doesn't need that much voltages especially when staying around 4.2ghz. also read that voltages at around 1.3v get dangerous for the cpu and also shorten its lifespan?

    What I don't get is why my cpu isn't automatically downclocking, but yours is. We have the same friggin cpu for crying out loud lol...
     
  25. dma0991

    dma0991 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not all CPUs are made equal so to say that >1.2V for 4.2GHz doesn't sound too bad. At 4.5GHz, mine is much closer to 1.3V than 1.2V, that's with a 300MHz difference. I consider anything that requires me to be >1.3V is dangerous as the voltage requirement increases exponentially if I want it to run at 4.6GHz and beyond.
     
  26. rgallant

    rgallant Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    9
    -I have all that set to 100% so I can idle at 3.5 , the micro sec. swings from x16 to x46 and back is nuts and proves MS turned win 7 into a battery saver even if there's none.