i3 540 overclocking question

Gustavus

Golden Member
Oct 9, 1999
I have an i3 540 on a Gigabyte H55M-UD2H motherboard overclocked stably to 4011.6 MHz; 21x 191MHz. Air cooled with a Cooler Master 212.

To do that I had to raise Vcore to 1.328 volts. As I said it is stable and has been running with these settings for nearly a year. I had hoped for better, but this is what I have.

My question concerns the QPI link. It shows as 4202.5 MHz which is considerably higher than what I see in other peoples posts of specs for their i3 540 systems. Is this a problem, and if I could reduce this could I expect to acheive higher speeds?

Thanks.

SPBHM

Diamond Member
Sep 12, 2012
I have no experience with clarkdale, but if you look here Anand also had some pretty high QPI when overclocking http://www.anandtech.com/show/2901/14
(i5 6xx and i3 5xx are the same thing),

now your MB uses the H55, which is probably a more basic model? so I could see the MB having trouble to work with the BCLK much higher than 191, considering the default is 133 right?

also it might be something related to memory clock?

Gustavus

Golden Member
Oct 9, 1999
SPBHM
Thanks for the reply. I learned something from the link you gave -- that the CPU clock and the QPI link should be as close as possible. Maybe my 4 GHz and 4.2 GHz are not so out of synch after all.

Memory is fine. I have GSkill ripjaws 1600 and have set the multiplier so it is safely in spec.

I realize overclocking is always something of a crapshoot, but had hoped to get to 4.2 GHz with this rig and have sort of gnashed my teeth for a year since so many reports of even better results with this MB and CPU have been posted.

Blastman

Golden Member
Oct 21, 1999
Some of the early versions of 1156 H55 MB's had the GPU coupled to the BCLK.