i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by Born.9inety4our, Nov 11, 2012.

  1. Born.9inety4our

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    :confused: what is better for gaming?? i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k?? i need to know it fast D:
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - 5800k Forum Date
    Overclock A10 5800k CPUs and Overclocking Jul 23, 2016
    How To Get A Stable Temp Reading From A10-5800K? CPUs and Overclocking May 19, 2016
    Is there a reasonable drop-in upgrade solution to an AMD 5800k? CPUs and Overclocking Mar 11, 2016
    a10-5800k vs. i3 3220 CPUs and Overclocking Oct 2, 2013
    AMD A10-5800K for new upcoming GPUs CPUs and Overclocking Aug 22, 2013

  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    FX-6300 over the FX-6100 and you'll have a great gaming setup
     
  4. Insert_Nickname

    Insert_Nickname Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,852
    Likes Received:
    80
    Depends on your budget. If you use a discrete graphics card then the FX6300 is the best. If you don't then the 5800K wins hands-down... :D

    The i3 will have lower power consumption then either if that matters. But the integrated GPU is HOPELESS for gaming...
     
  5. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799
    Likes Received:
    51
    Are you planning to overclock?
    What's your graphics card?
    Power supply?
    Gaming resolution?
    What games do you play?
     
  6. Born.9inety4our

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    fx-6300 its not on my list its only i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k..im using HD7750
     
  7. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea we know its not on the list but its the best option
     
  8. Born.9inety4our

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont think i'll be overclocking so no
    i have HD7750
    550w PSU
    resolution doesnt matter to me, its either 720p or 1080p
    i wanna play most wanted 2, assassin's creed 3, sleeping dogs, resident evil 6 etc. other new games
     
  9. Born.9inety4our

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0

    but how, there's no stock of fx 6300 on the stores here, so its just i3-3220 or fx-6100 or a10-5800k, thinking that there is no fx 6300 in the world yet
     
  10. Insert_Nickname

    Insert_Nickname Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,852
    Likes Received:
    80
    In that case go with the i3, you won't regret it... :cool:

    If you want a MB-recommendation something B75-based is a good starting point...
     
  11. laputan machine

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Definitely go with the i3 out of those options. The fx-6100 is outdated now, and the a10-5800k's big strength is it's integrated gpu, which you won't use with the 7750.
    The i3-3220 with the 7750 will make for a decent gaming rig at fair settings at 1080p, and it won't draw much power.
     
  12. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799
    Likes Received:
    51
    Since you're not overclocking and none of the games you listed are heavily multithreaded, Intel i3-3220 is your best bet. Combine with a B75 chipset board or a cheap H77 board. The i3 will handle a graphics card at least twice as powerful as the 7750 in most games, so make the GPU your next upgrade. Adding an SSD in the future is a good idea as well just to speed up general responsiveness, won't increase framerates though
     
  13. Born.9inety4our

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok then, that's what im looking for, thanks
     
  14. T_Yamamoto

    T_Yamamoto Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    13,860
    Likes Received:
    9
    H77 based is fine as well
     
  15. Born.9inety4our

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    the motherboard im about to use is
    GIGABYTE H61M-DS2-B3 1155

    is that good for i3-3220 and HD7750?
     
  16. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799
    Likes Received:
    51
    Where are you buying from? Don't get a H61 board, that's a last gen chipset and won't support Ivy Bridge without a BIOS update (unless the BIOS is up to date from the factory). It also lacks USB 3.0 and SATA 6gb/s. Get B75 or H77.
     
  17. sequoia464

    sequoia464 Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819113286

    I don,t know which of your options is best for you - but the 6300's are available.
     
  18. daveybrat

    daveybrat Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2000
    Messages:
    4,076
    Likes Received:
    62
    Like he said, stay away from H61 boards for Ivy-Bridge cpu's. Stick with a B75 or H77 chipset board so you don't have to worry about bios updates to get the cpu working.
     
  19. inf64

    inf64 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    933
    The year is almost 2013 and you guys are recommending a dual core with SMT... When he comes back here next year and cries how new BF4/insert whatever MT optimized game has 20fps with his good GPU will you offer him a tissue? Also his encoding times and 3D rendering will be way subpar with i3 so I see no logic in recommending it.

    But hey,why not. He can enjoy older titles and be stuck at stock clock with no options but shelling more $$ for i5 or i7.
     
  20. minitron

    minitron Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    If we're talking about higher end GPUs then why would he even consider anything AMD, he might as well just go for an i5.
     
  21. inf64

    inf64 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    933
    Because i5 costs way more than 6100 and he has no money for that? And with non-K i5 he is again stuck at stock clock with no perf. upgrade options...
     
  22. AtenRa

    AtenRa Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,236
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    Where are you from ?? Even in Greece we have the FX6300 in stock.

    Any way, if you cant find the FX6300 and you will not OC then Core i3 3220 should be fine.
     
  23. minitron

    minitron Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    A non-K i5 is still faster than the FX-6100 at any speed. If we're talking about options he can drop in a $240 Xeon E3-1230 which is quad core and hyper-threaded.
     
  24. AtenRa

    AtenRa Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12,236
    Likes Received:
    1,044
    and cost more :rolleyes:
     
  25. infoiltrator

    infoiltrator Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    We need a location here,
    many places in the world are behind "current release" and have higher prices.
    Check the H61 motherboard manufacturers website for "rev. X" CPU SUPPORT to tell if it supports Ivy Bridge, or can be "flashed" to do so.
     
  26. inf64

    inf64 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,734
    Likes Received:
    933
    And costs much more,which he cannot afford. 6100 stock is at 3.3Ghz,measly clock for Bulldozer. It can run at 4.4Ghz with slight vcore bump. If you think 4.4Ghz 6T Bulldozer is "bad" in games than you need reality check. It might have worse SLI scaling for sure,but with single higher end GPU ,any game will be smooth in high detail/AA setting.