I was already stupid enough to buy a used P5K mobo.

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by tweakboy, Oct 30, 2012.

  1. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    Like a idiot, I bought this used P5K thinking ,, ok if it works then I can set my old overclock settings of 463x8 and transaction booster on.

    This POS they sent me for 45 dollars to the door. You cant touch anything but the BUS speed.... if you touch the voltage or memory voltage anything,, it shuts off and doesnt come on again.. you have to mess with it and finally you get boot up after numerous trys and switch off and unplug etc....

    Soo Im stuck to this,cant touch voltage and its @ what you see in my sig,, I can get 3.5 off it,,,, gosh,,,,,,,,,,

    Now the question is,,, am I stupid if I pay 100 dollars for a new legit P5K cuz I dont have to upgrade til 2013... I cant spend 600 now,, but I can spend 100 dollars on a legit P5K ,, soo I can get my OC settings back....

    I know its not worth it,,, but Im really scared of a fresh install,,,, Im good where I am....
     
  2. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,726
    Likes Received:
    91
    buy my dfi board
     
  3. Eureka

    Eureka Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you try updating the motherboard BIOS? I had a motherboard (new) that did that until I updated the firmware.
     
  4. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,635
    Likes Received:
    100
    1) Accept 2.4 GHz.
    2) Undervolt to 1.1 or 1.05 vCore.
    3) Replace all fans with "silent" models.
    4) Meditate on the true meaning of peace.
     
  5. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    The BIOS was already updated, and I tried updating it and downgrading it as well. Its a shot board.
     
  6. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1

    Im at 3519Mhz stable @ 1.384 under water. My rig is silent

    The Rad fans are 30 percent which is 1400rpm and no noise.
    GPU fan 30 percent
    iCAGE fan 1300rpm

    120mm 1300rpm faced against mobo standing on top of video card. noise level is very low. WHen I game I wear my Megalodon so I dont hear the 100 percent GPU fan I put it at. gl :whiste:
     
  7. SKORPI0

    SKORPI0 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2000
    Messages:
    13,872
    Likes Received:
    17
    I have a Asus P5K Premium/Q6600 system for the last 5 1/years running at 3.6 GHz (400x9). Never had a problem changing the multi, cpu voltage, ram setting via BIOS IIRC. A little noisy with the fans to keep it cool. Perhaps there was a reason it was sold in it's current condition because of something they did with it.

    how to do a pencil vdroop mod on the p5k vanilla

    Asus P5K "Vanilla" vmods
     
  8. hbarnwheeler

    hbarnwheeler Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are you doing such that a Q6600 @ 3.5GHz is hampering you?
     
Loading...