• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

I need to paint a tailgate...

Scarpozzi

Lifer
Jun 13, 2000
So I bent my tailgate last year hauling heavy stuff. It's from a 2009 F150...the metal is crimped on the edges and where it bent, it just caused the crimps to come loose.

I picked up a primed replacement for a few hundred bucks (painted replacements are around $550) from eBay.... Basically, I just need to scuff the thing up, tack it, and spray it. After that, I'll need to move all the parts from my old tailgate to the new one. I've never done this before, but I've been told that it's not too bad if you take it slow and have decent equipment. My biggest concern is to get a decent paint for the money....but I don't want to invest a ton in this...the point of me doing it myself is saving cash.

Tools/materials I have already:
Garage with space to hang the tailgate from
Drop Cloths to make a paint booth...
6 Gallon pancake compressor
HVLP gravity spray gun (cheap amazon gun with good ratings)
Heat Gun
600 grit sandpaper
Fine sandpapers (2000-2500-3000 grits)
Car Polish
Buffing cloths

The Paint Code is UX....Ingot Silver Metallic. I'm guessing I'll need a pint of paint based on what I've read. My understanding is that you mix the paint with thinner so you can spray it...but what else will I need?
What's the best paint to get for this kind of thing?
Is it possible to order quality paint online?
Is a 6 gallon tank going to be enough volume for the job? (I plan on practicing with the inside of the tailgate to see how many passes before the compressor kicks on) Otherwise, I may pickup this: https://www.lowes.com/pd/Kobalt-20-Gallon-Portable-Electric-Vertical-Air-Compressor/1000578469

Any advice is welcome.

paperfist

Diamond Member
Nov 30, 2000
www.the-teh.com