HTML / Wordpress problem

Discussion in 'Programming' started by think2, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. think2

    think2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a problem with a wordpress website I'm helping to add the content to. We have three small images shown side by side, left aligned, the third of which is shown below starting with <div> and ending with </div>. The problem is that to get the next section to start on the line below the images instead of to the right of them, we have to have the six &nbsp; you can see below and What You See (in edit mode) Is Not What You Get (in "live mode") i.e. in edit mode, to get the <h2>Notices</h2> to appear in the right place in live mode, it needs to be to the right of the images. Is there any way to force the <h2>Notices</h2> to start on the next line below the three images so that what you see in edit mode looks sensible and matches what you get in "live mode". The site is using wordpress 3.1.2 rather than the latest 3.4.2.


     
    #1 think2, Nov 4, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  2. think2

    think2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is what the HTML looks like at edit time

     
  3. Tweak155

    Tweak155 Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    10,296
    Likes Received:
    19
    I believe the really old solution to this is:

    <div style="clear:both;"></div>

    Put that in place of your &nbsp;'s.
     
  4. think2

    think2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    That works! Thanks a lot.
     
  5. Markbnj

    Markbnj Elite Member <br>Moderator Emeritus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    15,687
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is there a really new solution to it? It would be nice not to have all those useless divs.
     
  6. think2

    think2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does anyone know of a content management system that doesn't have hassles with user editing like this. Joomla seems to use tinymce as well. I see tinymce gets updated fairly often so maybe some of these issues have been improved on.
     
  7. Markbnj

    Markbnj Elite Member <br>Moderator Emeritus
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    15,687
    Likes Received:
    8
    What do you mean by "hassles with user editing?" They all handle text quite well using various editor plugins. But you're trying to insert custom markup. When your markup gets rendered it's either well-formed and has the correct styles applied or it doesn't. No content management system is going to figure that our for you.
     
  8. think2

    think2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry for the late reply. A simple example is to have a blank line between items in a bulleted list. I had to go into the html and insert a <br>. It's also difficult to get images where you want them.

    I've just found ckeditor http://ckeditor.com/ so I'm going to give that a try.
     
Loading...