HR/Management tech question for engineering

Apr 4, 2015
I'm contemplating my future.

right now I work about 50-60 hours a week while in school full time, switching between my two part time jobs, one at a restaurant on the weekends, the other at a systems integration company where I work as an electrical and mechanical engineering designer using a lot of autocad and solidworks.

Generally, I work every day. I was wondering if my GPA could be lower (3.2) and still find top tier jobs based on my work ethic.

I ask because I intend to move to texas in 2-3 years, and I wouldnt want to hurt my future income via keeping a high current income and not getting all As.

it seems the obvious answer is "just get all As, then work as much as you can in between" but its definitely not that easy.

Anyone that does hiring for electrical engineers: Advice?

Nov 29, 2006
I cant speak from experience, but going off what ive heard the GPA doesnt matter too much when finding a job, its more that you completed the degree regardless of GPA. Like i said dont rely on my answer 100% since i only have an AA, but in the same field. Working at a big engineering firm doing drafting work.

sm625

Diamond Member
May 6, 2011
It is much better to be able to pad your resume with valuable work experience.

cbrunny

Diamond Member
Oct 12, 2007
Not an engineer but have never been asked what my GPA was. I think applicable experience counts for more.

Personally, I'd split the difference. Quit your restaurant job unless you must have it, try to pick up some more hours at the relevant work place. If you can't get the hours, work on your GPA. You might need it for grad school some day.

freeskier93

Apr 17, 2015
This is really more company specific than field specific (within engineering). A company like SpaceX really, REALLY, cares about GPA. You could be Wernher Von Braun himself and and they'd still want to know his GPA.