How to tell if your Win8 is 32 or 64bit.

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by jfelano, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. jfelano

    jfelano Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    1
    I recently downloaded and installed Win8.

    When I go to AMD.com to download my graphics drivers it asks if I have Win 8 32 bit or 64bit, I'm kind of surprised they still even make a 32bit OS, so how do I know what mine is?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Win8 64bit Forum Date
    Chrome browser issues? FF 64bit? Software for Windows Nov 1, 2015
    Skype (for desktop) auto-corrects while typing in Win8? Software for Windows May 1, 2014
    Aero/Glass for Win8 and Win8.1 Software for Windows Feb 14, 2014
    WEBSHOTS Snafu on WIN8 Software for Windows Aug 25, 2013
    MS Office 2003 on Win8? Software for Windows Jul 10, 2013

  3. mechBgon

    mechBgon Super Moderator<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1999
    Messages:
    30,699
    Likes Received:
    0
    From the start screen, type "show which operating system" and it'll find "Show which operating system your computer is running." In the resulting panel, look at the "System type" line and it'll say if it's 64-bit. Hopefully it is 64-bit, both for the ability to use over 4GB of RAM, and because that's a key requisite for Enhanced Protected Mode and possibly some other security enhancements.
     
  4. jfelano

    jfelano Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    1
    It says 64bit. Thank you.
     
  5. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    26,576
    Likes Received:
    84
    Another way is to just look at the filename you downloaded. That is in the filename.
     
  6. Gooberlx2

    Gooberlx2 Lifer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    15,384
    Likes Received:
    5
    Or windows key+pause
     
  7. seepy83

    seepy83 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting...I just installed Win 8 Enterprise (64-bit) on a VM a couple of days ago, and typing "Show..." results in "No apps match your search".

    Edit: Nevermind..you have to have "settings" instead of Apps highlighted under the search box. Any way to get it to default to searching all of the above (Apps, Settings, and Files)?
     
    #6 seepy83, Nov 4, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  8. sswingle

    sswingle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2000
    Messages:
    7,116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Crap that sounds convoluted.
     
  9. sham63

    sham63 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    From the desktop (not Start screen) move your mouse to the upper right corner. Then select the settings charm, then select Control Panel, System and Security, then System. The control panel looks just like the Windows 7 Control Panel.

    Jim
     
  10. sham63

    sham63 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is an easier way to get to the Control Panel. From the desktop go to the upper right and select the search charm. Scroll to the right until you reach Windows System. The Control Panel is in that group.

    Jim
     
  11. WildW

    WildW Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    2
    Or in this case, go to the bottom-left corner, right click, choose system.
     
  12. uallas5

    uallas5 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    35
    Thanks Wild.

    Another way if you're on the desktop and in Explorer. Just click on Desktop in the left hand tree, there's the old Win7 Control Panel icon there.