How to RMA a motherboard

villageidiot111

Platinum Member
Jul 19, 2004
So, my MSI K8N Neo Platinum died on me friday night, so now I have to send it back to MSI for another one. I have never done this before, so I was wondering what I am supposed to do. A lot of you use the term RMA, but I don't even know what this stands for, I've just figured out from context it means to send it back. What should I do? Please be specific.

Mrvile

Lifer
Oct 16, 2004
First find their RMA request form at their website, located here: http://www.msicomputer.com/msi_user/msi_rma/default.asp. After they've emailed you back with different things to try, try them all (RMAing is never fun, try to avoid it as best as possible). Finally once they've determined that your motherboard is really dead, they'll send you an RMA number.

Place your motherboard back in its original box, in its original bag, which is an anti-static bag. If you don't have it get one, you'll recognize the material (kind of a thick plastic). Finally record the serial and product number (which should be on the box itself) and make sure you have em handy (though you might not need them). Place the box in another bigger cardboard box, with lots of foam peanuts and whatnot, along with a copy of the RMA sheet they emailed to you and that you should've printed out. Tape it up, write the RMA number TWICE (that's TWO TIMES) on the outside of the box, along with their address and your shipping address. Get over to your local post office and send it abroad.

You should receive a new (or repaired) one within two weeks, and MSI has a RMA tracking tool located here: http://216.158.218.35/eflow/rma_enduser.aspx.

Dos and don'ts:

DO: Make sure the motherboard is in an anti-static bag. Static is a computer's worst enemy.

DON'T: Use crap around the house such as t-shirts and tissue paper to package your motherboard. Some of these can hurt the motherboard.