How to receive calls while in Costa Rica, when people call US number?

Discussion in 'Mobile Devices & Gadgets' started by dak125, Nov 7, 2012.

  1. dak125

    dak125 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    I may be spending a nice chunk of time in Costa Rica this winter. The catch is that I would work remotely the entire time. Cell and email connectivity are vital. The email part isn't an issue, but I am concerned with the best way to handle phone calls.

    I will be staying at my friend's house where WiFi is available. From the research I have done, Talkatone may be my best option. It will make use of my Google Voice number (a Chicago number), but it also ties me to locations that only have WiFi. I'm also concerned about the quality of the calls.

    So I'm looking for another option. I'm a Sprint customer and they're at $1.99 a minute, which is cost prohibitive.

    Really, what's important:

    1) A US based number.
    2) Solid cell coverage.
    3) Reasonable cost.

    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - receive calls Costa Forum Date
    Ultra Thin Qi Wireless Charging Receiver for Galaxy S5 Mobile Devices & Gadgets Nov 26, 2016
    Smartphone with functioning FM receiver? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Sep 24, 2016
    Not receiving texts. Going from underground to outside hours later Mobile Devices & Gadgets Jun 20, 2015
    when do you think the Nexus 5 will stop receiving Google updates? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Jun 4, 2015
    what t-mobile compatible phone will let me make and receive calls over wifi? Mobile Devices & Gadgets Sep 18, 2012

  3. pm

    pm Elite Member <br> Super Moderator<br>Mobile Device
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2000
    Messages:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    4
    When I was in Costa Rica in the spring, I bought a GSM compatible phone (a Samsung Galaxy S2 i777), unlocked it, and then bought an ICE (Costa Rican cell phone company) SIM card at the airport. At San Jose airport, there's a ICE booth next to the international baggage claim - get the SIM there, the booth seems to offer data plans that are a bit cheaper than what you can get at the ICE booths outside of the airport.

    That gave me 3G data and I was pleasantly surprised with both the price (I spent $20 and used less than half of that) and the service coverage and speed. It worked ok for 3G calls over VOIP as long as I had 3 bars or better.

    For calls, our main phone service for our house goes through Callcentric.com so they have an app, so I just unplugged the home phone and ran the Callcentric app on my SGS2 and it seemed to work pretty well. Callcentric didn't charge anything extra for this and for calls it looked like I was calling from our home phone to people that I called and if people called our home phone here in Colorado, it just ran on the app down there. The only real downside was battery life - running the app noticeably reduced the battery life of the SGS2, so I ended up carrying around a double-sized SGS2 battery (got it off of Amazon for ~$20) that came with a custom battery plate for the back of the phone. So the phone was heavier and bulkier, but I had full internet throughout Costa Rica and had a US number and all worked well.
     
    #2 pm, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  4. ArJuN

    ArJuN Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Call up Sprint before you travel and tell them to disable text messages on your account and enable international roaming. Make sure to turn the mobile network option off on your phone so apps aren't sipping data while you're out of the country.

    When you get to Costa Rica, just have your contacts call your cell number normally. As soon as they do, call them back from a local phone. When we travel, we do this exclusively. We bring a Vonage and a magicjack to return the phone calls with a US a number. We could receive calls on those too, but can't guarantee they will always be connected to the internet. Using our cell phones to receive calls make it so that none ever get missed.

    It's not what you asked for, but this method has worked for flawlessly on 10+ occasions overseas. Plus it saves the hassle of having to give out a new number to people.
     
  5. dak125

    dak125 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response. To confirm, Callcentric works via VOIP, not through a traditional cell service, correct? I would still need to be near Wifi?

    Thanks for your response as well. I like this concept, and if the calls I were fielding were solely related to friends and family then it would be a great solution. The problem is that I'll be receiving work related calls and every additional step that would be required for someone to reach me would decrease my success (job related).

    It would be sweet if I could forward my Google Voice number to an international number (Costa Rica).
     
  6. pm

    pm Elite Member <br> Super Moderator<br>Mobile Device
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2000
    Messages:
    7,406
    Likes Received:
    4
    It works via VOIP over ICE's 3G data service (as long as you are 3 bars or better), so no, you don't need to be near WiFi.
     
  7. dak125

    dak125 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great info, thanks.

    Can you advise on which plan you use from Callcentric?