~~ How to hook up My Hot Deal Ultra-Budget Home theater Sub???~~

Discussion in 'Audio/Video & Home Theater' started by EXman, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. EXman

    EXman Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    20,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok this is What I have

    A Yamaha Aventage RX-A700 (BB clearance with coupon and %25 off post Xmas sale $145)
    http://usa.yamaha.com/products/audio-visual/aventage/rx-a700_black__u/

    Mains Energy CB-5 (BB clearance $75)

    Rear Boston Acoustic Micr 110x (old had these sitting around)

    Center Polk CSII series II (6.5" open box newegg $59)

    *Velodyne VP10 $40 Craigslist special <<<----- Problem Does not have the standard 1 sub plug? http://www.ebay.com/itm/Velodyne-VRP-10-Powered-Subwoofer-/220976683913

    HOW do I hook this SUB up to the receiver?

    for what it is worth I have a $250 42" XVT vizio 1080p 120hz Craigslist special and a $50 Panasonic BD 110 3D Blu ray player from BB.

    Pretty cheap ass hot delio basement system...
     
  2. pmark

    pmark Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 1999
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. pmark

    pmark Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 1999
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
    oops, linked to the wrong product. Anyway, just find a 2-to-1 RCA cable.
     
  4. EXman

    EXman Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    20,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea i was like wtf?

    And hook the standard Sub cable to it and i'm golden?
     
  5. pmark

    pmark Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 1999
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    0
    yup.
     
  6. NutBucket

    NutBucket Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2000
    Messages:
    24,591
    Likes Received:
    8
    You don't need the Y-adapter necessarily. Look in the owner's manual and it will tell you which jack to use for a mono input.
     
  7. kornphlake

    kornphlake Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can hook a single cable to one RCA jack or the other, it should work just fine with only one input.
     
  8. SithSolo1

    SithSolo1 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    1
    On the higher end models in the vrp line the LFE input is the Left rca input. I assume its the same on your model.
     
  9. EXman

    EXman Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    20,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has two inputs and I have 2 sub outputs sorry for the new question but should I run two sub cables to it?
     
  10. EXman

    EXman Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    20,052
    Likes Received:
    0

    It says nothing about a mono input that i can find. Shows one sub cable from the receiver to two to the sub or speaker level.


    Actually I just got a Y splitter and it worked well. Pretty decent bass. thanks cool guys!

    IMMORTALS next up...

    Boom Boom
     
    #10 EXman, Apr 9, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2012
Loading...