How to find ISP in my area?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MonKENy, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. MonKENy

    MonKENy Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    2
    I need a new ISP for my business. I am trying to get time warner in but they keep dropping the ball on the install and I cant wait much longer.

    I need 10-15Mbs at least.

    Any ideas on what to do?
     
  2. Loading...


  3. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    28,076
    Likes Received:
    49
    Is your Area is the same as My Area?


    :cool:
     
  4. MonKENy

    MonKENy Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    2
    lol well my address is

    909 Baseline Rd Suite A
    Rancho Cucamonga CA 91730

    I was just looking for direction on where to go to find ISP
     
  5. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    28,076
    Likes Received:
    49
  6. ImDonly1

    ImDonly1 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. drebo

    drebo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7,043
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can provide you 10-15mbps of metro-ethernet service. It'll be symmetric, and it'll be about $1600/mo. Business-grade.
     
  8. MonKENy

    MonKENy Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    2
    charter doesnt service that area unfortunately, I would love to get charter there. Its Time warner and they super screwed up.

    I had called them and they said they service my unit. So the guy comes out to survey and tells me they actually stop across the street.

    They have to run the line over and to the building.

    Ok ill get the property managers approval. The property manager says that is fine but they have to run it over to the side not across the parking lot.

    I go back and forth a few times w/PM and TW. Finally tell TW to run from the pole and bury it down the side of property. PM and TW give a green light so I figure im good to go...

    A few days later I hear nothing from TW so I call. They tell me that the address is now "unserviceable" When asked whjy they tell me that someone put in an order stating the street had to be trenched and the line buried. That it will cost 11k+

    Im like WTF thats completely wrong. They have to run the line pole to pole and drop it on my side. The pole is on my property not on the street. Some how they gut the burial instructions wrong and think they have to bury it through the street. Ive been going back and forth since thanksgiving w/them to no avail.

    Im giving them until wed then im looking for a different ISP. I HATE the idea of dsl or ether over copper but I think im screwed and will have to.

    We cant afford those routes for the speeds we need. Im getting 50/5 in my riverside office (about 30miles away) from charter for $180 with a static. TW was going to be 15/3 for $200 with a static.

    Im really tired and frustrated with this whole project.

    Im trying to switch off of cbeyond and their phone system with cisco equipment. Network both my offices together. I switched to ring central so im trying to get that going.

    My riverside office was a breeze. The rancho one for some reason is breaking down ever step of the way. Im fighting so hard to do basic stuff. Its cursed. Its now taken me over a month to do a 1 week job. I honestly have no idea how to make this work any better now.
     
  9. heymrdj

    heymrdj Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Part of any new project should be surveying the utilities before ever signing a unit lease. Things that are important for your business to run should be fully covered, in writing, before committing to an area. You don't start a car wash in areas where the city puts a ban on x gallons per month. You don't put a compute cluster in an area where the e-company can only supply 100MW to the entire city. And you don't put a business that needs internet in an area where the internet is currently constrained.
     
  10. drebo

    drebo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7,043
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's the problem with using Internet access products designed for residential use.

    Sure, the mbps is high and the cost is low, but you get shit support and shit in the way of account management.

    That's why proper access products (like Ethernet over Copper) are expensive.

    You get what you pay for.