How to configure wireless 5GHz or 2.4GHz..

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Shyatic, Nov 4, 2012.

  1. Shyatic

    Shyatic Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the Asus Black Diamond RT-N56U.

    I configured the 2.4Ghz and 5.0Ghz wireless settings exactly the same. I have an issue with poor signal performance in the upstairs of my house, which isn't that far, but for whatever reason it's very poor quality in the signal on my cell phones, Nexus 7 and Kindle Fire.

    Any suggestions on how to configure wireless? I am going to try to disable the 5GHz band to see if it improves anything for me. I don't need the highest speeds; I need only enough for fast internet speeds on my laptop, but not for file transfers.

    Thanks for any advice!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - configure wireless 5GHz Forum Date
    Wirelessly configuring a router? Networking Aug 3, 2013
    Accessing Wireless Extender's configurator Networking Sep 29, 2011
    how do I configure netowrk so wireless devices only see internet? Networking Jul 13, 2011
    Configuring Wireless Network for New Home Networking Jul 22, 2009
    How to configure 2 wireless routers for best speed? One is N one is G. Networking Feb 7, 2009

  3. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    28,071
    Likes Received:
    45
    Switching Off the 5GHz will Not improve anything.

    Give each Radio its own SSID, and use the same WAP2 (AES personal) for both.

    Wireless clients that can use the 5GHz Radio will show both Radios in the available Wireless Networks and you can try one or the other ans see wahts work better.

    Single radio clients (2.5GHZ) will not even show the 5GHz as available.

    You should know that in many environments multiple APs are needed to provide good Wireless.

    In many cases there is No Magic Wireless Router that can cover whatever One desires.


    :cool:
     
    #2 JackMDS, Nov 4, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2012
  4. Shyatic

    Shyatic Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's what I figured :)

    I guess that I will just order another router or AP to extend this one... any suggestions on a cheap AP?
     
  5. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    28,071
    Likes Received:
    45
    #4 JackMDS, Nov 4, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  6. Shyatic

    Shyatic Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,019
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Jack... got the 2500, I just need the WiFi so it's ideal. DD-WRT better if I'm using it as an AP?
     
  7. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    28,071
    Likes Received:
    45
    The stock firmware is Good, use DD-WRT only if you need a feature that is Not available in the stock firmware.



    :cool:
     
  8. spidey07

    spidey07 No Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    65,481
    Likes Received:
    2
    Also keep in mind antenna performance is VERY poor directly above and below omnidirectional antennas (what you have) if they are positioned vertically. Try to keep your problem clients at 90 degrees to the antenna.
     
  9. Chunkee

    Chunkee Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    10,391
    Likes Received:
    1
    What is the best firmware for this router. I have one and feel as thought its dropping or cutting out. I am on 1.0.1.8d. Also, is there a site that is good at explaining all the configuration settings? There are so many and I looked at that Russian firmware, but those dudes are like leaps ahead of the curve and I am not a Linux guru. Ty.

    Jc