How to change channels w/ Remote? + HD without extra $$?

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by phatTweaker, Mar 7, 2018.

  1. phatTweaker

    phatTweaker Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I have a PC connected to my HDTV in a spare room and I can stream TV from tv.xfinity.com.
    The problem is I have to use my mouse to change channels.
    It would be a lot more convenient to use a remote control. Is there a cheap and easy way to use a remote control to change channels?
    PC in question is running Windows 7..Would using a MCE remote with kodi or windows media center do the trick?

    Another question.I have 2 TVs connected to xfinity cable boxes and I am eligible for X1 equipment which is HD capable, but comcast wants me to pay a $10 per month HD technology fee. Is there a way around this?
    If I used a HDhomerun or other cablecard device would I still have to pay the $ 10 HD tech fee?

    thanks
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - change channels Remote Forum Date
    Got a good GPU? Think 1080p upscaling to 4K is a gimmick? MPC-HC+madVR will change your life! Home Theater PCs Jul 16, 2017
    Sudden disappeared USA HD channel with HDHR' and WMC Home Theater PCs Dec 9, 2016
    Repurposing old machine to HTPC - what to change? Home Theater PCs Jun 10, 2016
    Utility to change default audio track? Home Theater PCs Feb 5, 2016
    changing up my htpc Home Theater PCs Oct 16, 2015

  3. hoorah

    hoorah Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    10
    Probably. The fee is to activate the HD versions of the channels on your cablecard (or cable box) on your account.

    The HDhomerun and cablecard get you out of having to rent additional DVR boxes.

    As for a remote to control the streaming from the Xfinity website, I don't have a great answer for that. Some remote functions may work in a web browser (play, pause, volume up and down) but channel up and down likely wont. Your best bet there is to get something like the logitech K400, which is a small wireless keyboard/mouse combo. It works well for most of our HTPCs.
     
  4. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13,102
    Likes Received:
    382
    Thought I would drop this quickie in here, but I don't have time to discuss the particulars.

    It is possible to reprogram a Windows Media Center Remote, and the procedure and tutorial are available "somewhere" like "Green Button" or other HTPC web sites.