How many people here have DVD burners? Do you record from cable/sat/TV?

Arkitech

Diamond Member
Apr 13, 2000
I've been dying to get my hands on a DVD burner for the past 3 years and I think I'm finally ready to start looking around for one. I'm mainly interested in using it to archive my favorite TV shows so naturally that brings up the question how is the quality of the DVD disks?

Have you been able to play them on your DVD players?

And for the people who edit out commercials is it fairly painless?

How long does it take you to edit commercials out of a 1 hour program?

SaintGRW

Golden Member
Oct 14, 2001
No, but I probably will just to download classics like seinfeld episodes and macgyver episodes to put on DVD SINCE THEY ARE NOT RELEASED ON DVD :mad;

ElFenix

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Mar 20, 2000
i think vcdhelp has a good database saying what kind of discs will play in what players. that said, i haven't had any problem with the fuji 4x dvd+rw discs i bought in my sony dvd player from early 2000

edit: the only things i've burned already had commercials removed

nitsuj3580

Platinum Member
Jun 13, 2001
get ricohjpn for +R's and ritek G0x for -R's and you'll be fine for the most part. I've not had a problem with CMC's either for -R's

with dvd shrink and nero, backing up dvd's is so easy

i'm sure video editing is just as simple

rh71

No Lifer
Aug 28, 2001
I have a question similar to this...

When burning those collection of videos (say they're now in standard MPEG-1 format)... there's no way to make them playable on a standalone, correct ? They have to be in DVD format ... is there a way to convert them all (maybe 10 mpgs = 4.5GB) into a dvd-playable format ? The only thing I've found is here which does .DAT to DVD... but I don't want to have to convert to .DAT first.

edro

Lifer
Apr 5, 2002
I have a Radeon 9700 Pro AIW and record cable television specials, like cool stuff on the History channel and Discovery channel.