How hard is it to create a simple database search using HTML/Java?

88keys

Golden Member
Aug 24, 2012
I'm not a programmer, I'm just a guy whose managed to learn, forget and relearn vba for excel a few times.

What I want to do is create a basic web page with a search function, and I've created an illustration below (using excel) to visually show how I want the search function to behave.
Mobile browser compatibility is a must so I'd prefer to stay away from doing anything that would detract from that.

The sheet you see on the left represents the file where that the search function will reference. This file will be about 20,000 rows or so. I suppose it could be formatted as a csv file, but I'm not sure if it's the best way to go about it.

The sheet on the right represents the web page and and the behaiviour of the search function. Typing in the word "Black" brings up all all artists and songs containing that word. Typing in "Black Sabbath" would narrow the list down accordingly.

Hui2R9g.png

Now, it's been going on 20 years since I've worked with HTML on a regular basis, and it was back when I was creating cheesy geocities pages. I can work with vba(excel), and ahk, but I've never worked with javascript, php, or anything like that.

That said, is this too daunting of a project for someone of my skill. Don't mind a healthy challenge, but I can't spend 6 weeks on this either.

If this is within my capability, perhaps someone could set me in the right direction and point me to some tutorials that will get me up to speed on this.

Thanks in advance.

purbeast0

No Lifer
Sep 13, 2001
Is the "database" (which just sounds like a text file from your description) going to be static or is it something that is going to be constantly updated?

Does it have to be a CSV file or do you want to use a real database?