How does Photoshop work?

FIPhoto

Feb 9, 2010
This is my first thread with Anandtech. Great site. Keep up the good work.

I am a photographer that uses Photoshop CS4 and I have been beta testing Lightroom 3.0.

I'm building a new system: i5 750, 8gig ram with an Intel ssd. Money is tight and I would buy a better video card if needed. I do not think the above components will bottleneck my workload.

What level of video card should I buy? Sorry, I do not game at all :.(
Something small like a Radeon HD 5450, middle size or would full boat HD 4890 (that is my top $ limit).

Would two 512 meg cards work better than on 1 gig card? I'm ok with SLI or crossfire.

Thanks

elconejito

Dec 19, 2007
www.harvsworld.com
You 100% do NOT need a high-end video card for either Photoshop or lightroom. Any recent video card that supports OpenGL will do. Which is basically any card not made by Intel. If you buy a better video card and you're not gaming it's just a waste of money.

A good choice is the ATI 4350 which can be had for about $30-$50. I'm not sure if there is a 5XXX series equivalent to that card.

And DEFINITELY, only ONE card. CS4 does NOT support multi-card SLI or XFire setups.

lavaheadache

Diamond Member
Jan 28, 2005
just to clarify things for the op. When you crossfire or sli, you don't add the ram together as it is a shared frame buffer.

AyashiKaibutsu

Diamond Member
Jan 24, 2004
I do believe Photoshop works by sending machine code to your processor which then processes it.

blanketyblank

Golden Member
Jan 23, 2007
I read there is a patch where you can use the processing power of some nvidia cards to increase the speed significantly in photoshop. I think it was only on their quadro cards though, but I think you can mod certain cards to do it.

http://gizmodo.com/5064946/nvidia-quadro-cx-accelerates-adobe-cs4-up-to-11

quadros are definitely not in your budget range though. However maybe something like this would work: