How do you privately sell a vehicle if you owe money still

lokiju

Lifer
May 29, 2003
I've never done something like this before.

I've always just traded in my previous vehicle's and bought from dealers up until now.

Here's the situation.

I bought a motorcycle back in 2005, I currently owe $6,400 for it and see that the average asking price is anywhere from $6,300 to $7,000 for the same model, year, condition, etc...

I want to sell it privately so that I can maximize how much I get for it so I can fully pay it off.

I spoke with the company that holds the loan and title (GEMoney) and they said that after they receive the full amount owed that it will take a full billing cycle before they issue the title.

Is it normal in a private vehicle sale situation to have the buyer expect to wait at least 30 days to receive the title after paying in full for the vehicle and taking possession of it?

Is it legal to sell someone a vehicle and allow for them to take possession but not provide them with rights to the title at the same time?

Help me ATOT, you're my only hope!

:beer:

Cliffs:
-Owe $6,400 on motorcycle and should be able to get that if I sell it privately.
-Have a loan still on the amount owed and do no have possession of the title
-How does a private sale work in this situation?

Raizinman

Platinum Member
Sep 7, 2007
meettomy.site
Nobody is going to purchase a car or motorcycle without a title. There is too much chance that the vehicle is stolen or you don't have permission to sell it. I've seen too many deals go sour where a person would sell a vehicle and then the title had a spouses or someone elses name on the title. The seller already had the money, and he left town. NEVER purchase a vehicle without the seller having the title. I always want to see the title prior to sell. Many times there will be mileage issues or other liens on it that were not disclosed.