Question How do I connect A router to a building WiFi?

s31248

Dec 23, 2020
My father just moved into a retirement home and they only offer building WiFi for the residents. When I started setting up all of his devices I realized they are all visible to everyone that is logged onto that building WiFi.

What I want to do is buy a router that I can wirelessly connect to the building WiFi and then create a private network (with his own SSID and password) behind his router for all of his devices to connect to. I have never done this before I usually hardwire a modem to the router and then setup the network that way. I was reading about bridging but couldn't tell if that is what I want.

If this is possible, could someone let me know how to do it and if possible what specific router to buy that does this. I bought a TP-Link Archer A8 and tried that but it was not physically able to do it because it needed to be hardwired to a modem.

Thank you for your help!!

UsandThem

Elite Member
May 4, 2000
Couldn't you set the internet connection to public, and maybe use a VPN service so all the data between his PC and VPN server is encrypted? That might be the way to go.

5.jpg

Nov 17, 2019
**SOME** routers have things like Client or Repeater modes where you can connect the WAN side to an existing network SSID and set a different SSID and PW for the client devices.

I can't state which ones or how well they might work in your situation.

mxnerd

Diamond Member
Jul 6, 2007
Yep. What you need is a travel router or wifi extender that can act as a WiFi Client and create it's own SSID and it's own IP range.

I searched Amazon and found one VPN travel router that looks pretty good. It's small but maybe just right for your father's retirement home.

It's got WISP mode that can create it's own private network and it's using open source OpenWRT.