How do/did you like your school life?

rominl

Moderator Emeritus<br>Elite Member
Nov 2, 2000
I am wondering how you guys feel about your school.

I am a graduate student now in Electrical Engineering, specialized in Computer Engineering and Embedded Systems. Seriously, I don't really like it. It's a two year program, and I have finished all my required courses, so now it's time to focus on my research. However, I don't really like my research. It is no where funny or exciting. In fact, it's more like a mechanical work where a college graduate can handle...

Nonetheless my advisor is not good at all. The help she gave me is probably less than the help I gave her about PC computers. Every time I go and ask her something, her replies are, &quot;hmm, ask some other students&quot; &quot;read the help&quot; &quot;try to go to the tool's homepage and search&quot; I mean, if I could ask someone else or find it somewhere else, I would have done that. And if you have next to no idea what i have to do and how, then why the hell did you ask me to do it in the first place?!

In terms of computer, it sux... As some of you knows, most EE CAD tools run on Unix, so every time i come back to school I will have to sit in front of this Ultrasparc 10 300mhz with 1gb ram. DO NOT even try to say this is good. Even my 533 with 256mb ram at home runs more smoothly than this thing here. Not to mention the fact that netscape and ie suck on this machine.

So my hope is to get out of school asap, which is this June or July hopefully. Crap, can't stand this anymore....

StageLeft

No Lifer
Sep 29, 2000
I hated all of my 12 years at school. Then I disliked intensely my 4 years at university. I then disliked my 1 year technical college diploma thing I did afterwards. Each time I changed I disliked it less and less, but ultimately I hated school. It was so &quot;pointless&quot; and abstract. I like things that are means to an end.