How big is too big?

LokutusofBorg

Golden Member
Mar 20, 2001
I'm a programmer by profession, and I game and do most everything else in my free time on my computer. And I'm a dual monitor zealot. At work I have 2 Dell 20" 16x10's (2009W). At home I have 2 old BenQ 19" 12x10's (FP931). I work from home 3 days a week (Remote Desktop + /span FTW!) and I really miss the real estate I have on those 16x10's at work. So I want to get bigger monitors at home.

I've got my eye on the 22" Dell 2208WFP. It's currently on sale for a great price. Does anybody know how this monitor compares to the 2009W? Any details on the panel(s) they use?

The other one I have my eye on is the BenQ G2400WD. My current BenQ monitors have been fantastic monitors for years now. No problems whatsoever, great picture, etc. So this monitor is very appealing.

My main concern is, as the title suggests, will dual 24" 19x12 monitors just be too much real estate? I've never used a monitor that big, let alone two of them. The dual 16x10 monitors at work feel about right. But here's the conundrum: I recently bought an HD camcorder (Canon HF100) and plan on spending a lot of time editing and watching my HD footage. Having a full 1920 monitor to do that on sounds really cool.

Anybody have any (expectedly subjective) feedback on the too-much-real-estate concern?

TIA.

Painman

Diamond Member
Feb 27, 2000
Someone concerned about "too much" real estate? This has to be a first.

Trust me, once you have it, you'll find ways to fill it.

MalVeauX

Dec 19, 2008
Heya,