Hotmail e-mail toolbar disappeared

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by DaveU, Oct 5, 2004.

  1. DaveU

    DaveU Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Wife's PC running WinXP Pro recently upgraded to SP2
    (not related to SP2 upgrade, was happening prior to that)
    Her hotmail toolbar has disappeared, and It's driving her mad!
    Expected to fix it, I googled the web for the solution,
    and came across several other posts with the same problem...
    Read below......
    I figured if anyone can help it would be the the people from the
    best forums on the web here at Anandtech =)
    Thanks!

    Hotmail e-mail toolbar disappeared

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    My hotmail e-mail toolbar disapppeared even though rich text format is on.

    There is a red x in the upper left hand corner where the toolbar would be.
    If I click onto it , it says "cut text".

    What will fix this?
    My hotmail e-mail toolbar disapppeared even though rich text format is on.

    There is a red x in the upper left hand corner where the toolbar would be.
    If I click onto it , it says "cut text".

    What will fix this?



    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Has anyone found the fix for this? I'm having the same problem!


    My hotmail e-mail toolbar disapppeared even though rich text format is on.

    There is a red x in the upper left hand corner where the toolbar would be.
    If I click onto it , it says "cut text".

    What will fix this?

     
  2. kamper

    kamper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you be more specific? Is this the bar that appears in the top of the text box when you are composing a new message? To get that back click "Tools" (along the top, next to buttons like "save" and "cancel"). Then select "Rich-Text Editor ON". If that option doesn't appear it's probably because the browser won't support the necessary stuff it needs. For me it's not an option when using Firefox.
     
  3. DaveU

    DaveU Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure how I can be any more specific, If your familiar with
    hotmail, like the notes I posted say..

    My hotmail e-mail toolbar disapppeared even though rich text format is on.
    There is a boxed red x in the upper left hand corner where the toolbar would be.
    If I click onto it , it says "cut text".

    I think it might have something to do
    with Java? Not sure tho...

    Anyone help?
    Thanks!
     
  4. DaveU

    DaveU Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    stumper eh?

    please, my life will be miserable if
    I can't fix this for the little woman!

    :eek:)
     
  5. kamper

    kamper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Um, by telling us exactly what tool bar this is you're talking about. Is this the box that is right in the text box when you compose? Is this something that is outside of the page itself (like a browser plugin on one of the top panels)? No one can try to help you if you if they don't know what you are talking about.

    Many of us are familiar with hotmail. Try posting step by step instructions to get to the situation where toolbar should show up, from logging in until where exactly where the tool bar is expected to be.
     
  6. DaveU

    DaveU Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0

    ok, thanks for the help...
    It would be the toolbar which is right below the
    "subject" Line
    and right above the message area
    contains all the tools, smiley's ect...
    that tool bar...
    it's present on my machine,
    but missing on my wife's.
    there's just one of those
    box outs with the red x like the previous posts explain

    thanks again for the reply...
     
  7. kamper

    kamper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, that's what I thought it was. Under the tools menu does she have the "Rich-Text Editor ON" option?

    Also, what browser is she using? This will not work in firefox and maybe it won't in older versions of IE either.
     
  8. DaveU

    DaveU Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0

    ok for those who may have been reading,
    did some general house cleaning on
    the temp files and temp inet folder.
    dunno why, but that seems to have cured the problem
    rich text available again....
    thanks!
     
  9. gryphongeek

    gryphongeek Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello! I am having the exact same problem. The hotmail toolbar will not show up. When I attempt to press "Rich-Text Editor OFF", I get the pop-up screen which says "Changing the formatting.....will remove all current formatting....etc". So I click OK. However when the screen refreshes, the page loads with an error. When I click on this the pop-up screen states:

    Line: 18
    Char: 1
    Error: 'g_state.bMode' is null or not an object
    Code: 0
    URL: http://by15fd.bay15.hotmail.msn.com/cgi-
    bin/dasp/EN/rte___90801.asp

    So then the page loads with a red X in the upper left hand corner where the toolbar should be. When I again click Tools, it still shows "Rich-Text Editor OFF".

    I am using IE 6.0
     
Loading...