Host Init: Couldnt load gfx/palette.Imp

Discussion in 'Software for Windows' started by TheMinger, Aug 4, 2002.

  1. TheMinger

    TheMinger Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I have a question regarding an error I get while running a game (counterstrike). I have reformatted my entire drive several times, but every time I run the game, I get an error in a window saying "Host Init: Couldnt load gfx/palette.Imp." Is this referring to my video card? I was always able to run the game on my computer before, but now it wont run, even after I've reformatted. Please Help, Thank you.

    :disgust:
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Host Init Couldnt Forum Date
    Cannot Log In To Twitter Using Chrome ‘Solved’ ~ * Take Note Software for Windows Oct 3, 2016
    Can I set a Hosts file just for one browser? Software for Windows Aug 30, 2016
    Windows 10 tracking, disable via hosts and other methods? Software for Windows May 21, 2016
    Sharing a network share mounted on VM guest with the host? Software for Windows Mar 12, 2016
    WOW Anyone created an account but couldnt get on? Software for Windows Nov 11, 2004

  3. John

    John Moderator Emeritus<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    33,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's palette.Lmp ;)

    First get this file: http://www.tweak3d.net/files/Pak2.pak

    Now get this file: http://pages.eidosnet.co.uk/~noghri/dl/pakxp.zip

    Open the pakxp.zip file and extract the PakExpl.exe file somewhere.

    Double-click the PakExpl.exe that you extracted and click "OK" on the screen that comes up, next go to the "File" menu and select "Open Pak"
    then locate the Pak2.pak file you downloaded before and open it.

    Double-click on the gfx folder that appears, and then right-click on the "palette.lmp" file and select "Extract".

    Now goto Find/Search on your "Start" menu and search for "palette.lmp", right-click it and select "Cut" then goto the ...\Half-Life\cstrike\gfx folder and "Paste" the file there.

    This should solve that particular error.
     
  4. TheMinger

    TheMinger Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did everything that you said, and initially I got another error saying I was missing some file. So I grabbed that file from my roommates computer and stuck it in there. When I started CS again, I get the same exact original error: "host init: couldnt load gfx/palette.Lmp"

    The file is in the specified /gfx directory now (it wasnt before I did what you suggested) but I still get the error. What else do you think I have to do?

     
  5. TheMinger

    TheMinger Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have any more suggestions John? Or does anyone else out there have any suggestions? I would really appreciate it. THANKS!