@home sucks!!!!!!

bozack

Diamond Member
Jan 14, 2000
Ok Here is my rant for the day since my cable modem was down all yesterday and this morning.

let me first say that I am a tier 2 technician for NASA HQ in DC, so I think I sorta know what I am doing when it comes to computer config..with that said here is my story.

The problem started yesterday morning when no machine on my network would connect to the internet (I have one dummy computer sharing the internet connection to two workstations, all run 98se), the only page I could pull was yahoo.com and I figured that it was cached I also couldn't ping anything either). So I checked the lights on the modem, they seemed fine, it is a com 23 modem and the first two lights and the last light were all lit up green, however whenever I tried to access a page the second to last light would blink (which indicates my computer sending its request) but the other light wouldn't (which usually indicates traffic on the cable modems side.)

I then went on to check Network preferences, read the IP config, blah blah blah, and everything was as it should be. So I Called Comcast/@home to see if they were having an outage.

Turns out they were having all sorts of problems, but the rep said there were no issues in my area and proceeded to tech support.

He said that he was able to ping my modem and stuff so the connection looks good on their end and they said I should restart and see if that works. Well needless to say it didn't and I called back at what time they sent me to tier 2 support.

So I was talking to the tier 2 guy who said they couldnt ping my machine at all, they said they could see my modem but not my computer. He had me

Release/remew IP
Static congfigure an IP
Change workgroup settings
and Reboot the machine (what is this their failsafe?)