Help With My Build

ksmith9226

Jan 26, 2013
Hello I am new to this and I am looking to build a HTPC. After looking at several guides I came up with some components but not sure if I am going in the right direction and am looking for any insight and advice. My unit will be used to stream movies, and perhaps some light gaming. I am thinking of running XMBC with it, and am leaning on having Apple TV in separate rooms non that will be ran at the same time.

Here is a link to my build. http://pcpartpicker.com/p/AlkU

CPU: Intel Core i3-3225 3.3GHz Dual-Core
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master GeminII S524 77.7 CFM Sleeve Bearing
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3-1600
SSD: Intel 330 Series 60GB 2.5" SSD
Case: Silverstone GD04B HTPC Case
LG UH12NS29 Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer
Silverstone Strider Plus 500W 80 PLUS

I am not sure of a good motherboard to use, or if this setup is more than what is needed. Any advice would be welcomed.

thestrangebrew1

Diamond Member
Dec 7, 2011
For an htpc, I think you could shave a few bucks and just use the intel cooler. I'm just using stock on both my units and they're quiet enough for me. Also, the heatsinks on the ripjaws might be too big, it'll depend on your case layout and far back the components go towards the mobo. I just went with a cheap pair of gskill 2gb sticks with no crazy heatsinks on them on one build, and the Samsung low profile memory from Amazon. No problems whatsoever.

Are you OCing your cpu at all? IIRC if you aren't OCing, an h61 chipset will do for htpc, otherwise if you plan on OCing, go with an h67. Not 100% though. Someone else can chime in on this part. I don't OC so I just have h61 chipsets.

assassin24

HTPC Moderator
Mar 27, 2005
Agree about using the Intel stock cooler. Its great for HTPC and that case has excellent cooling.