Help with low cost option of replacing shot Shuttle SB83G5 using some parts

Matt_Stevens

Dec 17, 2009
OK, folks. I have a Shuttle XPC SB83G5 that fails to post 9 times out of 10. All installed hardware, memory, drives, vid card, power supply, etc. have been ruled out of the problem. I have trouble-shooted this thing since Summer and am just going to sell the bare-bones along with CPU installed and a 1 gig stick of ram, along with original case.

What I would like to do is find another Shuttle out there that is mostly stripped, but with the CPU installed and has a PCI-Express slot on the MB so I can slap my NVIDIA GeForce 6800 256 MB in. I have plenty of spare DVD drives and HD's just laying around. I also have a spare stick of 1gig Ram that was used with the Shuttle ("PSD1G400K; 1 GB PC3200 CL2.5" is on the module).

Problem is, I am no computer expert. Not any more. :\ I haven't built a system in about eight years. My shuttles were built for me. So I am not sure what I can get. I do see that the Shuttles on eBay are either recent and therefore expensive, or way older than my Shuttle (built January 2006) and more like cira 2003 or 2004 and have AGP slots, no PCI Express.

Basically, I am asking for advice. This is a computer that must be small, preferably a Shuttle, so I can bring it with me on a plane to Vietnam mid-January. Yup, you read that right. I want to give the system to my wife's parents, who live in Saigon and have a PC that barely works and is over a decade old.

Where should I look other than eBay and what should I be looking at. I am a fast learner, so please, lay it on me.

Of course, if I could find a reliable Shuttle that was already built for for under $130 shipped, I would just snag it and save myself the hassle. But it has to be reliable. I don't want to take a chance on a machine that is not tested with an OS and find I dropped a hundred clams on a paper weight. Can't afford it.

Thanks!

Blain

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999