Help with an easy form for logging jobs

Discussion in 'Programming' started by Fullhouz, Feb 5, 2013.

1. Fullhouz

Fullhouz Member

First, I'm a dirt engineer, not a programmer. This is probably a stretch as a programming question but a little more than a shared spreadsheet. We've used a paper log form for 40 years and it seems there has got to be a better way using a database form/web app/google doc, maybe/some new tablet tool. The paper log book is used by 30 or so managers to log clerical jobs. When the clerical staff finishes a job, then they'll complete the log book entry. In simple terms, here is what the app needs to do:

Located on the WAN, nonpublic; no security;
    simple table entry with 6 labeled columns, no wizards needed;
    entries need to include hyperlinks to .doc/.pdf on the network;
    open field entries shouldn't be necessary while using lookup tables for easy-of-use;
    each job is one row in the table;
    jobs only need to be kept for 3 days max;
    each day a new blank form is started and previous day's form is available;
    many concurrent users entering data;
    tool tips would be a plus;
    as another plus, would like to automatically email the requester when the clerical job is finished;

So is there something out there off-the-shelf or do you have a suggestion for me?

Thanks in advance.

2. Loading...

Similar Threads - easy form logging Forum Date
    What is the preffered way of checking if a form is submitted in php? Programming Apr 27, 2017
    How do I turn off the “NioEndPoint” Logging in Spring Boot? Programming Apr 21, 2017
    Web Form Length Question / Opinions Programming Jan 11, 2017

3. EagleKeeper

EagleKeeper Discussion Club Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Staff Member

If the entries are not completely concurrent; then a spreadsheet on a shared drive will work.
    New worksheet for each day.
    User opens worksheet, updates and closes sheet