Help Overclocking RTX 2060

EpicSurvivor

Senior member
Aug 14, 2012
781
15
91
#1
Hi would like to Overclock this bad boy (RTX 2060) I honestly don't know where to start. When I was overcloking my GTX 970 I was doing it based off Youtube video but I can't find any tutorials for the RTX 2060 yet was wondering if anyone could help me? Like I really don't even know where to start. Appreciate it.

Thanks.
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,096
38
106
#2
Hi would like to Overclock this bad boy (RTX 2060) I honestly don't know where to start. When I was overcloking my GTX 970 I was doing it based off Youtube video but I can't find any tutorials for the RTX 2060 yet was wondering if anyone could help me? Like I really don't even know where to start. Appreciate it.

Thanks.
There are plenty of guides out there. I will say overclocking the 2060 is pretty straight forward. Most cards should do +1000MHz on the memory, and +130 on the core. Raise the power limit to the max and staring upping your core clocks in 13Mhz increments. No need to touch the voltage, but I would make sure the GPU stays at 70-72c or below, so it maintains close to peak boost. You can do that by creating a fan profile or just setting your face speed to a static number, like 70%.
 

EpicSurvivor

Senior member
Aug 14, 2012
781
15
91
#3
There are plenty of guides out there. I will say overclocking the 2060 is pretty straight forward. Most cards should do +1000MHz on the memory, and +130 on the core. Raise the power limit to the max and staring upping your core clocks in 13Mhz increments. No need to touch the voltage, but I would make sure the GPU stays at 70-72c or below, so it maintains close to peak boost. You can do that by creating a fan profile or just setting your face speed to a static number, like 70%.
Yeap Figured it out. Got it at +70 Core and +400 Memory. This is my heaven and fire strike score with overclock.

Overclock 70 Core 400 Memory (Stable-Pass).png
Fire Strike 16,550 (Overclock) (70 Core) (400Memory).PNG
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,096
38
106
#6
Which model do you have? What are you final core clocks?
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,096
38
106
#8
Your boost frequencies are a bit higher than a founders edition. Any idea what your boost clock holds at with +70? You have plenty of headroom on your memory OC, or at least you should. I'm not sure if there is much to gain overclocking it though.
 

EpicSurvivor

Senior member
Aug 14, 2012
781
15
91
#9
Your boost frequencies are a bit higher than a founders edition. Any idea what your boost clock holds at with +70? You have plenty of headroom on your memory OC, or at least you should. I'm not sure if there is much to gain overclocking it though.
with +70 I get about 2040mhz. I can push the memory up to +800 and that puts me at around 7896 for the memory.
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,096
38
106
#10
2040 MHz is pretty good. Definitely a nice little boost over stock. I have to add +156 to my card to get the same boost clock.
 

EpicSurvivor

Senior member
Aug 14, 2012
781
15
91
#11
2040 MHz is pretty good. Definitely a nice little boost over stock. I have to add +156 to my card to get the same boost clock.
oh interesting I honestly didn't know it was decent. I am pretty new at this. Good to know, thank you for clarifying, gives me peace of mind.

What GPU Do you have?
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,096
38
106
#12
From what I've seen 2025-2055 is a pretty typical for a RTX 2060. I have the Founders Edition. I've got mine to 2055, but I haven't pushed it any further...yet.
 

EpicSurvivor

Senior member
Aug 14, 2012
781
15
91
#13
From what I've seen 2025-2055 is a pretty typical for a RTX 2060. I have the Founders Edition. I've got mine to 2055, but I haven't pushed it any further...yet.
Oh awesome! didn't know you had one as well. Yeah I am seeing the same for most 2060's between 2025-2055 I managed to push mine up to 2070 but it wasn't stable after the first 2 benchmarks. I saw someone on youtube pushing their ASUS STRIX RTX 2060 to like 2125 or somewhere near that amount. No idea how, I think its just the Asus Strix that can do that.
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,096
38
106
#14
I've seen them in the 2100+ range as well, but it's pretty much the silicon lottery. I'm not sure if ASUS bins their chips to reach that clock speed on the Strix cards? I doubt it though.
 

EpicSurvivor

Senior member
Aug 14, 2012
781
15
91
#15
I've seen them in the 2100+ range as well, but it's pretty much the silicon lottery. I'm not sure if ASUS bins their chips to reach that clock speed on the Strix cards? I doubt it though.
When you have a chance would you run Heaven benchmark but at 1080p (Not sure if you using 1440P) And on the same settings I did on the screenshot above and run Firestrike as well and post your results while Overclocked? Would love to compare scores. I keep feeling like something's wrong with my system just can't figure out what, but this would give me a lot of peace of mind.

Here one of the videos not sure what card his using I kinda skipped ahead a little but look at this insane Overclock, it just doesn't make sense I couldn't get mine to that level.
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,096
38
106
#16
I've seen that video. That's a really great OC, definitely not typical from what I've seen. I game on a 1440p panel, but I can run these benches later on tonight to compare. I run a 5820K @ 4.0GHz - 16GB DDR4 3000, etc...
 

EpicSurvivor

Senior member
Aug 14, 2012
781
15
91
#17
I've seen that video. That's a really great OC, definitely not typical from what I've seen. I game on a 1440p panel, but I can run these benches later on tonight to compare. I run a 5820K @ 4.0GHz - 16GB DDR4 3000, etc...
Okay awesome! yes if you could do both at 1080p with your GPU overclock it would be great. Really appreciate it, thank you.
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,096
38
106
#18
Okay awesome! yes if you could do both at 1080p with your GPU overclock it would be great. Really appreciate it, thank you.
I didn't get a chance to run FS, but here is Heaven.

This was at 2055-2070 MHz on the core - also +1000MHz on the memory
At the start of the test, it boosted over 2100MHz, but it didn't last long :)

Heaven.JPG
 

EpicSurvivor

Senior member
Aug 14, 2012
781
15
91
#19
I didn't get a chance to run FS, but here is Heaven.

This was at 2055-2070 MHz on the core - also +1000MHz on the memory
At the start of the test, it boosted over 2100MHz, but it didn't last long :)

View attachment 4408
Awesome! so that's exactly where the RTX 2060 should really be then, I guess I had high expectations. I mean don't get me wrong these are great scores and consistent to the ones I get but I was expecting to perform better. Going to buy a GTX 1080ti if I find a good deal on one when I save some of my money.

Appreciate you sharing. Thank you.
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,096
38
106
#20
No problem. I enjoy Global Illumination too much in Metro Exodus to go back to Pascal. I have to use DLSS, but at 1440p Ultra settings, it does pretty well. I'm sure FPS will drop the further I get into the game.
 

EpicSurvivor

Senior member
Aug 14, 2012
781
15
91
#21
No problem. I enjoy Global Illumination too much in Metro Exodus to go back to Pascal. I have to use DLSS, but at 1440p Ultra settings, it does pretty well. I'm sure FPS will drop the further I get into the game.
I like Global illumination as well forgot about that Metro Exodus is the only game I own that has it but its super neat thing to have. Makes the game feel alive.
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,096
38
106
#22
I like Global illumination as well forgot about that Metro Exodus is the only game I own that has it but its super neat thing to have. Makes the game feel alive.
Agreed. It's pretty amazing with it enabled. Hopefully we'll see more games soon. Either way, I'm happy with the performance thus far.
 

EpicSurvivor

Senior member
Aug 14, 2012
781
15
91
#23
Agreed. It's pretty amazing with it enabled. Hopefully we'll see more games soon. Either way, I'm happy with the performance thus far.
Man I can't believe it. On Metro Exodus you need to have Windows 10 for RTX/DLSS To work. Well darn I am on Windows 7. Wonder if its the same for Shadow of Tomb Raider
 

Face2Face

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2001
4,096
38
106
#24
Man I can't believe it. On Metro Exodus you need to have Windows 10 for RTX/DLSS To work. Well darn I am on Windows 7. Wonder if its the same for Shadow of Tomb Raider
You'll need full DX12 support and the creators update for Windows 10. This is for all games that support DXR to my knowledge.
 

EpicSurvivor

Senior member
Aug 14, 2012
781
15
91
#25
You'll need full DX12 support and the creators update for Windows 10. This is for all games that support DXR to my knowledge.
Yeap just installed Windows 10 on a separate partition haha. Thanks appreciate it.
 

Similar threads



ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS