Help new to building PC's, I get nothing on bootup

PezRadar

Jan 16, 2005
Okay im brand new to building PC's in regular ATX cases, the only ones Ive done have been shuttle barebones systems that arae almost straight forward... Well I started with this

This is what I got

Intel Pentium 4/ 3.0E GHz 800MHz FSB, 1MB L2 Cache, Hyper Threading Technology - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/app/view...=19-116-171&DEPA=1

MSI PT880 Neo-FSR Socket 478 Mainboard
http://shop4.outpost.com/produ...sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 184 Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/app/view...=20-145-449&DEPA=1

RAIDMAX Silver 10-bay Case with 420W Power Supply, Model "Scorpio 868" -RETAIL
http://www.newegg.com/app/View...=11-156-139&depa=1

SAMSUNG 160GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model SP1614C, OEM Drive Only
http://www.newegg.com/app/View...=22-152-015&depa=1

CENDYNE 48x12x48 CD-RW

Got it all from frys for a nice price compared to newegg.. now the problem is.. this one refused to boot and show anything on my screen and I had a Geforce2 in there to test out the video, the Heat sink fan didnt even spin, cd-rw didnt open, only thing that spun were case fans, and harddrive and video card fan, but nothing prompted when i turned it on..

So i thought it was a bad mobo.. and returned processor and mobo since i got it as a combo deal and got a

Asus K8N Nforce 3 Mobo with an Athlon 64 3200+

I then got a Geforce FX6600GT today PNY AGP 8x

I put it all together, and this time heat sink fan spins the mobo power light shows as green and video card fan spins, but i get no prompt and my cd-rw still doesnt open.. harddrive spins fine too but absolutley 0 prompt..

I take out the memory and then the mobo beeps at me.. so i have no idea wahts its problem :(

what am i doing wrong.. ive remounted this stuff so many times im getting fed up and im so frustrated im gonna explode :(