help!My turn computer on button don't light!

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by ZHANGJINMARIA, Nov 2, 2012.

  1. ZHANGJINMARIA

    ZHANGJINMARIA Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My computer turn-on button don't light up, does anyone can help? Much appreciated!
     
  2. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    Your giving us little information. Fill in your signature with your PC specs.

    When was the last time the light was working ? Does the HD light work ? Does your computer boot up ?
     
  3. ElFenix

    ElFenix Elite Member<br> Super Moderator<br>Off Topic
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    95,885
    Likes Received:
    36
    if you put it together you probably have the light's plug backward in the motherboard.
     
  4. nickbits

    nickbits Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did it work before? I fried one of mine once from a static shock.
     
  5. owensdj

    owensdj Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you talking about the Power LED on the front of the case? On the cases I've worked with there are two connections for that, labeled positive(+) and negative(-). You have to get them on the correct two pins on the motherboard for the LED to work.
     
  6. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nice CPU owens... man that thing is begging to be OCed to 5Ghz. Why such a soft OC. gl
     
  7. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    10,852
    Likes Received:
    32
    If the machine boots normally, then the LED problem is a peripheral annoyance. But as said by others, you have to get the positive and negative leads connected to the appropriate pins. Other than that, it would most likely be a break in the wire, or maybe a bad LED. Wires can be easily replaced; LED's can be easily replaced. It won't cost more than pennies, although it helps if you know how to use a soldering gun.

    This sort of thing always seems to happen when building a new system, for the reasons cited. You check the connections, the continuity etc. Get it done; move on . . .
     
  8. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    Now adays even in my 2007 mobo it has a full on conn, instead of single one by one conn,, you just insert the female into all those small pins ,, or maybe its a ASUS thing.
     
  9. ZHANGJINMARIA

    ZHANGJINMARIA Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hp Pavilion a6522f
    AMD AthlonTMx2 dual-core
    NVIDIA 6550SE
    windows vista
    the keyboard is no reaction
    can not get into BIOS, can not get into safe mode
     
  10. ZHANGJINMARIA

    ZHANGJINMARIA Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    the computer fail to start, the HD light not working!
     
  11. ElFenix

    ElFenix Elite Member<br> Super Moderator<br>Off Topic
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    95,885
    Likes Received:
    36
    so it's just dead?

    when was the last time it was working?
     
  12. ZHANGJINMARIA

    ZHANGJINMARIA Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    about four months ago~
     
  13. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,492
    Likes Received:
    1
    Could be power supply, power switch, or motherboard. Do you hear the fans come on?
     
  14. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    10,852
    Likes Received:
    32
    If the computer hadn't been used for four months, what are the chances that his CMOS wafer-battery is dead? At minimum in those circumstances, the CMOS wouldn't hold his configuration BIOS settings . . . .
     
  15. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,492
    Likes Received:
    1
    But that battery wouldn't keep it from booting. It would just lose and changes from default settings, including date/time.
     
  16. An00bis

    An00bis Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't that the non-k version? I don't think it's possibly to OC a non K version, only with turbo you can. He'd still get like 4ghz+ with turbo on I think.

    OP, try reversing the power button plug that gets in the motherboard, I min flip it around and plug it in with the other side. I had this problem as well but for my HDD led, I had to flip it around and after I did this it worked fine.
     
  17. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    10,852
    Likes Received:
    32
    Well -- I did a quick scan of the OP and additional posts, and I might have missed something. But he never specified his BIOS settings. If SATA configuration had been other than default, a bad battery would cause settings to change, and the system might not boot.

    Just recently, I resurrected an LGA-775 motherboard from my parts locker that had only been used for maybe three months. But it had sat in storage for the last five years. As I put the parts together -- RAM, HDDs etc. -- I'd go into BIOS and methodically configure the settings, then save them and shut down the system. On next boot-up, the default settings were still there. Replacing the battery solved the problem.
     
  18. ShreddedWheat

    ShreddedWheat Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Powerswitch button on case broken most likely, try to hook up to another case (just the switch part and psu) if you have one and see if that solves it.
     
  19. john3850

    john3850 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    1
    Check the power outlet for power.
    Try pushing in the power cord at rear of the psu.
    Short out the start switch at the mb for a split second.
     
  20. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,492
    Likes Received:
    1
    Correct. The OP's problem (at least I think, English may not be native) is that he hits the power button and nothing happens.
     
  21. Vdubchaos

    Vdubchaos Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,418
    Likes Received:
    2
    a) check the power at the wall, make sure you can power other devices
    b) check the cord on the back of the computer (sometimes it gets loose)
    c) make sure the on/off switch on the back of the power supply is On.

    Come back to report after those 3 are all set.
     
  22. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,492
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have never seen an HP (or any of the big manufacturers, come to think of it) use a power supply with it's own switch.