Help me overclock/cool Ivy Bridge

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by Yuriman, May 31, 2012.

  1. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,696
    Likes Received:
    1
    My new Ivy Bridge chip came in the mail yesterday and I've been playing with with it. swapped it out for the Q6600 + X38 I've been using for 4 years, but kept my watercooling loop - Swiftech Apogee + Black Ice GT triple rad + Laing DDC pump + PC Ice coolant. Pulled the loop apart (haven't touched it in 4 years) and gave everything a thorough scrub, but surprisingly it was pretty clean inside.

    Used Phobya HeGrease - reviews placed it among the top thermal compounds and it was cheap.

    Don't mind the dust!
    [​IMG]


    Currently my settings are:

    Voltage mode set to offset, -0.025mv
    C3 state: Disabled
    C6 state: Disabled
    C package state: Disabled
    Internal PLL overvoltage: Disabled
    LLC: Level 5


    As seems to be the case with most Ivy owners, I'm slightly concerned with temps. These are my results:

    4.3ghz -> 114.5gflops Linpack
    +0mv -> 1.240v As reported by CPU-Z under load
    Peak Temps: 90c

    4.4ghz -> 116.5gflops
    +27mv -> 1.272v
    95c

    4.5ghz -> 120gflops
    +35mv -> 1.280v
    100c

    4.6ghz -> 122.5
    +58mv -> 1.320v
    105c - Throttles


    Effectively I'm unable to exceed 4.5ghz with watercooling because of temperatures. The block doesn't even get warm to the touch, and my TIM application is good - I tried reapplying with no net gain.

    Also, Linpack + Prime seem to be quite insufficient for stability testing. I left Linpack running overnight at 4.5ghz/1.262v and it was running when I woke up, and Prime doesn't crash either, but I get force-closes and crashes in games within 5 minutes unless I add another 0.010v.

    So here's my question: Do you think lapping the CPU and waterblock might improve temps or is my limiting factor almost certainly between the IHS and core? I don't plan to de-lid my CPU.

    EDIT: Also is there a way to reduce ram set aside for the IGP below 32MB? I can't seem to find a way to disable it entirely in BIOS.
     
    #1 Yuriman, May 31, 2012
    Last edited: May 31, 2012
  2. Ferzerp

    Ferzerp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1999
    Messages:
    6,107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Then you're likely stuck with what you have.
     
  3. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,696
    Likes Received:
    1
    I remember reading somewhere about some people getting stable by lowering other system voltages at a given clock - do you know which voltages those might be, so I can play with them? Also, is Internal PLL Overvoltage likely to do anything for me at ~4.5ghz?
     
  4. Diogenes2

    Diogenes2 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are your temps for programs you are likely to run day to day ?

    I'm Folding @Home - 100% CPU, 4.4g 1.18 v and my temps are mid 70's max with Coolermaster 212+ ..

    ( not rig in my sig - above is with 3770K )
     
  5. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,696
    Likes Received:
    1
    4.6ghz / 1.320v, Prime95 doesn't break 80c. Looking at it like that I probably still have headroom, but it's hard to stability test that way. I'll keep RealTemp running in the background and see how high it climbs.
     
  6. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,566
    Likes Received:
    8
    If your chip will boot windows without internal pull over voltage most likely you don't need it.. PLL voltage maybe will help a little on temps if dropped and stable..
     
  7. borisvodofsky

    borisvodofsky Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it just me or is there only like 5 guys total, who responds in the cpu forum. :whiste:
     
  8. Diogenes2

    Diogenes2 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it just me, or do we seem to get a lot of people asking if there CPU temps are safe ?
     
  9. rgallant

    rgallant Golden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,696
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks much! The water is lukewarm, I'd wager it's around 28-30c. The block itself doesn't feel noticeably warm on the sides.

    I basically just pulled the block off of my Q6600 which was purring along happily at ~50c load (overclocked) and put it on my IB, I don't think there's anything wrong with my WC loop. It's possible it's a mounting or contact issue, but I tried varying the mounting pressure and a remount and didn't see a change in temps. Perhaps my chip has particularly bad contact between heatspreader and core?

    The thread you linked reports Prime Blend temps, which are considerably lower (15-25c) than when running Linpack; I'm sitting at 4.5ghz right now and getting about 78c on my hottest core with Prime running, as opposed to 100c with Linpack. Also, Prime seems to be a poor indicator of stability.

    I'm in the middle of a move but I think that once I'm settled in I'll try lapping the block and CPU and see if I get an improvement.


    I didn't ask if the temps were safe.
     
    #10 Yuriman, May 31, 2012
    Last edited: May 31, 2012
  11. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,566
    Likes Received:
    8
    I use my gpu as a poor mans water temp sensor. I figure at idle its close enough for me to get an idea at least.

    His temps do look to be rather high tho.
     
  12. tigersty1e

    tigersty1e Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,958
    Likes Received:
    0
    I noticed this too. I was 25 hour prime95 blend (95% ram filled) stable, but had to increase volts after crashing in black ops.

    I think AVX prime95 has something to do with it.
     
  13. borisvodofsky

    borisvodofsky Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    don't be such a pussy, DELID. ;)
     
  14. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,566
    Likes Received:
    8
    If your willing to lap the cpu you might as well just delid as you'll have no warranty anyways. It doesn't look too hard to me. Seems like the odds of dicing a finger are greater than damaging the cpu.
     
  15. Don Karnage

    Don Karnage Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Something is very wrong. Pump still have good flow? What are your ambients?
     
  16. BD231

    BD231 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lower your LLC to 75% (level 3 or 4), that should cool it down quite a bit.
     
  17. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,696
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's going to lower the load vcore though, right? I'll have to increase voltage to compensate for it... unless I'm missing something.
     
  18. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,566
    Likes Received:
    8
    Your correct. I doubt it would do anything to your temps.
     
  19. borisvodofsky

    borisvodofsky Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,606
    Likes Received:
    0
    Take its cloths off already, ivy bridge was meant to run naked. ;)
     
  20. BD231

    BD231 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    0
    You get lower peak voltages using a lower LLC, every bit counts.
     
  21. boondocks

    boondocks Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seriously doubt lapping your cpu is going to net you anything. As for your cpu block, depends on what shape it's in, I guess. Some newer blocks are convex which puts more pressure on the center of the IHS, though I don't know how much that helps.

    If you're running a high LLC setting then I would lower it and bump the DVID if you have to. Every little bit counts with IB and droop isn't a bad thing.
     
  22. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,696
    Likes Received:
    1
    Update:

    Finally settled at 4.5ghz. In bios I have offset set to -0.025v, and in the Intel Utility I have voltage set to +0.035v, so I'm running 10mv above stock. So far I've been running about 96 hours without any unexpected program closes or crashes.

    Updated temperatures after paste has had time to settle in:

    Intel Extreme Tuning Utility Stress Test: 72-75c
    Prime95 Small FTT: 85-87c
    Prime95 Blend: 68-70c
    Prime95 Large FTT: 75-77c
    LinX peaks around 95c
     
    #22 Yuriman, Jun 4, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2012
  23. Ferzerp

    Ferzerp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1999
    Messages:
    6,107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Err, those really wouldn't be additive. If anything, if the Intel tool loads a profile after Windows starts, your offset is .035V (not mV).
     
  24. Yuriman

    Yuriman Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,696
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks! I'll check it out - however, my loaded CPU-Z-reported voltage is 1.280.

    Also, I did mean volts (not mv).
     
  25. Ferzerp

    Ferzerp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1999
    Messages:
    6,107
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's about the voltage mine needs for 4.5V too.