HELP - Last Ditch Effort to save my machine

Jman13

Apr 9, 2001
I've been battling increasing instability on my Athlon XP for the last two months, and I'm at my wit's end as far as solutions go:

Backstory...machine is nearly 3 years old, had an original install of WinXP the whole time. I bought a new HD (Seagate 200GB), and an upgraded 2100+ t-bred to go with it. After installing the HD and the new processor, I discovered that the T-brad wouldn't work with my mobo because of the voltage requirements (me=idiot). So I put my 1700+ back in and sent the t-bred back. In order to use my new HD, I installed SP1. Shortly thereafter (perhaps a little over a week), I started getting random crashes (reboot/blue screen). It happened with no pattern, but would crash about every 2-4 days. Previously, the machine very, very rarely crashed.

I thought it might be the hard drive, so I did thorough diagnostic testing on all my drives, which all came back fine. After exhaustive testing on data and sector by sector scans, I'm convinced my HDs are all fine.

I thought that perhaps the new HD was the final straw on overtaxing my PSU....I bought a brand new Antec TruePower 550W....absolutely no change in behavior.

As time wore on, the crashes became more frequent. Again, no pattern...sometimes while doing nothing, sometimes online, other times in games. I used memtest and scanned my RAM for errors, and none were found. I even went as far to rotate both RAM sticks through every slot, and then finally a brand new RAM stick to make sure both my sticks weren't corrupted. That too did not help.

I have run every virus scan / trojan scan / adware / spyware scan available...all found nothing.

Finally, I succumbed, thinking it absolutely had to be my WinXP install....it must not have liked the upgrade to SP1, especially on such an old install. (I held off on this so long because I had so many programs installed, I really didn't want to do a full wipe.)