HELP! "Cable" light on modem shuts off 20+ times a day...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Boobers, Dec 1, 2005.

  1. Boobers

    Boobers Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello! Please help me!

    My cable modem is causing me real grief. I'll be using the internet (surfing, downloading, whatever) and suddenly the "Cable" light on the modem will shut off, indicating loss of signal (or sync?). After a minute the light will begin to flash slow, then fast (trying to sync?), then it will connect and the light will be on constant.

    The internet connection will then work perfectly for a while, until the light goes out again. This seems to happen about every 30-60 minutes.

    I have Road Runner service from Bright House Networks in Redford, MI. Bright House keeps sending out techs who always want to replace the splitters in my house (that the last tech just replaced...) and that's all they seem to want to do. They went to the pole a couple times. One tech adjusted the level up, but I still had the same problem. Then another tech came out and lowered the level, saying"...the level was set to high." Needless to say, I still had the problem.

    I've had 6 techs out to the house and they haven't fixed anything.

    Is there some secret way to access the service menu in my Toshiba PCX1100 cable modem? I hear it keeps track of levels and lost packets and such. I would like to have a look at it myself.

    Are there any cable techs lurking in these forums that can give me some advice? I don't know what to do. All the cable company wants to do is set up another service appointment.

    EDIT: I was just told that my old Toshiba PCX1100 is only certified for DOCSIS (Data Over Cable Service Interface Specification) v1.0 and not v1.1 (which is what Road Runner switched to in September). I'm going to take this old POS modem down to the cable company and swap it for a PCX2500, PCX2600, RCA DCM315 or an Ambit. Which is best?
     
  2. nightowl

    nightowl Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a PCX1100U and it has worked fine for me since I had RR installed in Aug in my new apartment. Not sure if your's is the same or not. There is usually a web interface on the modems. You just need to find its ip address.
     
  3. ppaik

    ppaik Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2000
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem for a while and it turned out to be my modem...
     
  4. fartbag

    fartbag Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0

    I agree with ppaik. Try a different cable modem. Your cable company should be able to provide you a loaner for testing.
     
  5. Boobers

    Boobers Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the input everyone!

    Well, I took my PCX1100 (which has been discontinued according to Toshiba) down to the cable office and they gave me a PCX2000 (which has also been discontinued). I asked for a PCX2500/PCX2600, but they said all they had was the PCX2000.

    I complained about them giving me another obsolete modem, but when I got it home I was surprised to find that my problems were gone. This modem works great. It never seems to loose sync.

    I'm calling the cable company today to complain about the tech service I recieved. Why didn't the very first tech they sent out see my old modem and replace it? Wouldn't that be cheaper than sending 6 techs to my house over the course of 4 weeks?

    I sure hate Bright House and now I'm doing my own tech support. Nice.

    Thank you very little, Bright House! :disgust:
     
  6. John

    John Moderator Emeritus<br>Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    33,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds like Bright House uses Dim Technicians. :p
     
  7. Boscoh

    Boscoh Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get another modem. Get a Toshiba though. Those ambit modem are pure crap. I cant speak for the RCA ones, never used em.
     
  8. Boobers

    Boobers Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I'm looking for a Toshiba PCX2600. It's the latest and greatest (Supports DOCSIS v2.0)

    Here's a useful page of Cable Modem Info
     
  9. Boobers

    Boobers Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dern double post!
     
  10. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    27,808
    Likes Received:
    8
    The old modems are not obsolete they are discontinued just like 2005 are discontinued when 2006 start to sell.

    Your old modem gone bad (even new cars sometimes might go bad) any Of the modems (including an ld functioning Toshiba) would work well with the current service that is provided by RR.

    There is No reason to spend money on a newer modem, unless you main concern is to participating in stimulation the economy by spending more money;).

    :sun:
     
  11. Boobers

    Boobers Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Modems that are only certified for DOCSIS v1.0 will exhibit sync loss when used on a DOCSIS v1.1 or above cable system.

    IMO, DOCSIS v1.0 modems should not be used...therefore they ARE obsolete.
     
Loading...