Heatsinks alter a POST?

MrEgo

Senior member
Jan 17, 2003
874
0
76
Ok, so I put the Volcano 7+ on my tbred b 2100+, and my machine doesn't even post. I go back to the stock AMD heatsink/fan and it works fine! What the heck is up with this? I'm using an 8RDA+ motherboard and a 430W ps. Does the motherboard have some kind of .. weight detector that knows when too much weight is pulling down on the cpu interface? What gives??
 

SpeedTester

Senior member
Mar 18, 2001
995
1
76
Originally posted by: MrEgo
Ok, so I put the Volcano 7+ on my tbred b 2100+, and my machine doesn't even post. I go back to the stock AMD heatsink/fan and it works fine! What the heck is up with this? I'm using an 8RDA+ motherboard and a 430W ps. Does the motherboard have some kind of .. weight detector that knows when too much weight is pulling down on the cpu interface? What gives??


Hmmm, Are you plugging in the heatsink fan onto the motherboard or using a four wire molex connector?
Your motherboard could sense the cpu fan isnt spinning and shuts itself down.


 

ChampionAtTufshop

Platinum Member
Nov 15, 2002
2,667
0
0
yeh its either that, or the heatsink isnt making proper contact and thermal protection is shutting it down (or is thermal protection only an asus thing for amd for now?_)
 

MrEgo

Senior member
Jan 17, 2003
874
0
76
Well I tried plugging it in withOUT the speed control, so I just plugged a red and black wire into the CPU1 fan slot, and left some other yellow plug unplugged. It's kinda hard to explain.. But it should just work (assuming its making good contact with the core) right? And if its not making contact with the core, would that make it not POST?
 

SpeedTester

Senior member
Mar 18, 2001
995
1
76
Originally posted by: MrEgo
Well I tried plugging it in withOUT the speed control, so I just plugged a red and black wire into the CPU1 fan slot, and left some other yellow plug unplugged. It's kinda hard to explain.. But it should just work (assuming its making good contact with the core) right? And if its not making contact with the core, would that make it not POST?

Ok try plugging in the Yellow plug to CPU Fan 1 and use the 3 pin to 4 pin adapter to connect it to the powersource.
The yellow wire is the sensor wire but I think the Epox board warns you on startup then shuts it self down. Make sure
your heatsink is on the right way (I'm sure you did this but you never know).


Let us know how it goes.
 

techfuzz

Diamond Member
Feb 11, 2001
3,107
0
76
Epox BIOS has an option to prevent the motherboard from working if it does not detect the CPU fan spinning. This can be enabled or disabled. Go ahead and plug the yellow wire which is the fan-speed indicator and it should boot up then.

techfuzz
 

Jman13

Senior member
Apr 9, 2001
811
0
76
I had this problem when I went from the stock AMD cooler to my SK-7 with Thermaltake smartfan. THe way I solved it was by installing the HSF, then attaching the AMD fan to the CPU header to get it to post, then switched off CPU fan detection....voila! My problem was that my mobo header needs all 3 wires on one connector to recognize the CPU fan...yellow alone or b/r alone won't do it, so I just run without a CPU fan monitor on my system. Works just fine.

Jman
 

MrEgo

Senior member
Jan 17, 2003
874
0
76
Good idea, Jman. I'll have to try that. I haven't given the thermaltake a try ever since I've been able to POST with the stock hs/fan. Would too much/too little thermal paste make a difference?
 

SpeedTester

Senior member
Mar 18, 2001
995
1
76
Originally posted by: MrEgo
Good idea, Jman. I'll have to try that. I haven't given the thermaltake a try ever since I've been able to POST with the stock hs/fan. Would too much/too little thermal paste make a difference?

Theraml paste shouldnt have anything to do with it(Its shouldnt be on anywhere but the core). Try the fan switch and let us know.
 

MrEgo

Senior member
Jan 17, 2003
874
0
76
What kind of material should be used to clean off the thermal compound? I'd kinda like to give it another shot, so it'll be more clean, because theres also drops here and there around the core, but not on it. I've read that I need a special kind of alcohol.
 

Actaeon

Diamond Member
Dec 28, 2000
8,657
20
76
Originally posted by: MrEgo
What kind of material should be used to clean off the thermal compound? I'd kinda like to give it another shot, so it'll be more clean, because theres also drops here and there around the core, but not on it. I've read that I need a special kind of alcohol.

I just wipe it off with a paper towel.
 

ChampionAtTufshop

Platinum Member
Nov 15, 2002
2,667
0
0
Originally posted by: MrEgo
What kind of material should be used to clean off the thermal compound? I'd kinda like to give it another shot, so it'll be more clean, because theres also drops here and there around the core, but not on it. I've read that I need a special kind of alcohol.

i use a qtip for most of it
then either finish it off with isopropyl plus qtip, or just turn around the previously used qtip