HDtune reports 100MB/sec burst rate - low?

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by VirtualLarry, May 10, 2010.

  1. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38,164
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    System has a Foxconn 780G mobo in it, unsure what southbridge, probably not the 710 or 750.

    SATA II HD WD Caviar Green 1TB

    Why are my burst rates so slow? That's like IDE speeds.

    I think the bios is set to "Native IDE" mode for the SATA ports, as opposed to "Legacy IDE", "AHCI", and "RAID".

    Is the ATI southbridge really THAT bad? Shouldn't my burst rates be 150MB/sec or higher? (Theoretical max is 300, right?)
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - HDtune reports 100MB Forum Date
    Really low read speeds reported by WD Black on my PC Memory and Storage Jun 14, 2017
    New HDD has persistent spikes in HDTUNE Memory and Storage Apr 4, 2014
    HDTune benchmarks of two new WD30EFRX Memory and Storage Jan 24, 2014
    New Kingston SSD. HDTune results and boot issues... Memory and Storage Dec 24, 2012
    Problems reading SMART data in HDTune 2.55 free edition Memory and Storage Sep 27, 2011

  3. Soulkeeper

    Soulkeeper Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    6,354
    Likes Received:
    25
    those results seem inline with most of the reviews i've seen online for that drive. Note that the drive is running at 5400rpm and not all the test is coming from the buffer
     
  4. Rifter

    Rifter Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    10,286
    Likes Received:
    470
    Yeah thats about what my 5900rpm seagate LP's are getting me. 7200rpm drives are a little faster but not alot. And there was never a IDE that was that fast that i know of unless maybe the WD raptors were that fast but they were way to expensive for the price/performance IMO. If you want faster you are going to have to step up to a RAID 0 setup or SSD, both will be alot more money but if you need the speed you have no choice. Also the drives arnt any faster on intel i dont know why you think the AMD chipset sucks.
     
  5. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38,164
    Likes Received:
    1,905
    I think you guys missed the point that I wasn't talking about platter transfer rates, I was talking about burst transfer rates, which are purely between the cache buffer on the drive and the controller chip on the motherboard. They should be close to the theoretical max of the interface transfer rate,

    Unless HDTune's burst transfer rate test is faulty. This drive only has 8MB cache.

    Edit: see this article
    http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/739/3

    All of the 1TB HDs listed have over 200MB/sec burst rates.
     
    #4 VirtualLarry, May 10, 2010
    Last edited: May 10, 2010
  6. tcsenter

    tcsenter Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    17,805
    Likes Received:
    13
    HDTune's burst rate test is flawed. Use HDTach for burst rate. Its the only utility I'm aware of where the coder understands the meaning and purpose of an interface test.
     
  7. Rifter

    Rifter Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    10,286
    Likes Received:
    470
    yeah i missed the cache part, thats what i get for reading this at the end of a 12 hour shift. as mentioned use HD tach.
     
  8. RebateMonger

    RebateMonger Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    11,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason, with HDTune 2.55 I'm getting low burst rates on my WD Green 2 TB disk, too. It's lower than the maximum transfer rate. Mine's hooked up to a PCI-E Silicon Image eSATA disk controller card. That wasn't the case with my Hitachi 7200 rpm 1 TB disks.