HDHomerun DVR?

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs' started by DesiPower, May 31, 2016.

  1. DesiPower

    DesiPower Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14,831
    Likes Received:
    121
    It seems HDHomerun View has a record (DVR) option now? But when I open the software I do not see any option... Is it available by default?

    I have HDHomeRun CONNECT running on Windows 10
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - HDHomerun Forum Date
    Does the SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT HDHR4-2US work with Windows 10? Home Theater PCs Dec 23, 2016
    Do you use Mythbuntu and HDHomeRun together? If so, how do you like the experience? Home Theater PCs May 8, 2016
    HDHomeRun Prime - What's Going On? Home Theater PCs Apr 6, 2015

  3. Kartajan

    Kartajan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    22
  4. DesiPower

    DesiPower Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14,831
    Likes Received:
    121
    Do you have access to it? Is it working, do you like it, or are you waiting for a release?

    Are there any other softwares based DVRs out there for win 10? OTA only.

    I don't mind paying $60, but the kickstarter seems to be close, there is an early preview or some similar option available in SD's website but is it any good? Is it instant, or I will have to wait and get it closer to the public release?
     
  5. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,279
    Likes Received:
    195
    I'm paying for the Kickstarter subscription because I have hopes that Silly-Dust can replace WMC at least for their own devices.

    If all you want is OTA, there's probably KODI, PLEX and MythTV which would serve well. You'd want either a tuner card or the HDHR device I mention below.

    I can say that HDHR VIEW with the HDHR DVR and backend is OK for now, but we're still not getting the encrypted subscription channels from our cable provider. It offers up just a little more than "basic cable" -- CNN, MSNBC, TNT, TMC, BBC, several stations. But we have all the Premiums, and right now, the only thing to do is boot into Win 7 and use WMC with our HDHR-Prime tuners with cable-card. Otherwise, Win 10 and HDHR VIEW or one of the others but no premiums, or just legacy SDTV premiums fewer than you can count on your hand.

    The main issue about all this is the loss of WMC and its ability to offer up the full cable-tv subscription with encrypted premiums. With OTA, you'd only need something like the HDHR Connect and front-end software as I've mentioned -- add MediaPortal to that list.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...45015&cm_re=HD_HomeRun-_-15-345-015-_-Product

    Kartajan knows more about these things than I do, so he might correct me.
     
  6. DesiPower

    DesiPower Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14,831
    Likes Received:
    121
    I have the exact same device you linked above, and I have Plex. How do I connect the two? I looked up on plex site and it says nothing and DVR features
     
  7. Kartajan

    Kartajan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    22
    as far as Plex, the DVR has no direct tie in as of yet. SD has promised Plex support to come, but nothing has been put out quite yet. Currently the only method to use Plex with the HDHomeRun is through 3rd party plugins (which allow DLNA access for live unprotected), or by copying saved content to a Plex folder.

    I would expect at some point a SD produced plugin for Plex, but nothing has been published as to what that plugin will be capable of.

    The link I posted earlier is to the "Getting Started" once one signs up for the SD DVR, at the bottom of that post are links to the Kodi, Win 10 and Android clients that can access the DVR, with 4 steps outlined: 1)Activation, 2) Install the DVR software 3)enable the "Record Engine", 4) Install a client that accesses the DVR
     
  8. DesiPower

    DesiPower Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14,831
    Likes Received:
    121
    How do I sign up, is there any way to sign up now as kickstarter is closed?
     
  9. Binky

    Binky Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm still baffled by the number of people willing to pay for a half-baked solution, when the WMC solution still works, and it works well.

    WMC backend + Kodi/Plex front end = easy(ish) and maybe free for you

    If you have protected content, just add an xbox extender.
     
  10. DesiPower

    DesiPower Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14,831
    Likes Received:
    121
    It needs windows 7 which I do not have
     
  11. Kartajan

    Kartajan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    22
    https://www.silicondust.com/products/hdhomerun/hd-homerun-dvr/

    there is a "Buy Direct" button that will allow that.

    Binky- WMC is getting harder and harder to get, and the performance of WMC has been degrading since they "depreciated" WMC. (That is why I abandoned WMC) Not to mention the increased occurrence of guide data problems and lack of support for "display port" based displays....

    *Since you are running on OTA, you could also look at a combination of nextpvr/ kodi or nextpvr/ emby.
     
  12. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,279
    Likes Received:
    195
    Well, I can't just "abandon" it even as everything you say is true about a pattern of depreciation. I'm not going to buy an XBOX so I can get premium content if WMC had provided the latter. That was my motive for shelling out six Mexican carry-out dinners for the "subscription." It's a gamble, and I'm hoping I can eventually drop my use of WMC with a good alternative under Windows 10.

    I wish I wasn't spoiled by the Cable subscription, or I'd set up a couple digital antennas, multiple tuner adapters, or the OTA-adequate HDHR network device. Then I'd figure out a way to get one channel lineup from LA, another from San Diego and a third from San-Berdoo, and merge them . . . . somehow . . . . [Just a thought I had at this moment, really].

    Maybe I'd just need one OTA antenna and one device. Yeah.
     
  13. Kartajan

    Kartajan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    22
    As much as I wish that was likely, nobody has a full on solution that is everything to everyone... :(

    As it is, I had to make a rats nest combo to get what I wanted, and the "break even" point is far further in the future than what I initially expected. The HDHR DVR may well end up being my DVR in the future, but it has not yet reached a point where it is ready for my "non-technical" household members... (I am hoping it gets there soon)

    Just for giggles, here is my full setup:
    Living Room: Vizio E701i-A3 (70" LED TV) Denon AVR-1612 Sony SA-VE150 5.1 speakers Magicsing ET23KH (Karaoke) ADTH IP-7880M (IPTV Box for Filipino Channel) NVidia Shield XBox 360 (rarely Used)

    Garage/ Smoking Lounge: Panasonic 50" TH-50PX80U NVidia Shield

    Upstairs watching area: 51" Samsung Plasma PN51F4550BF Roku 3

    Testing Area: Nexus Player 19" Magnavox 19MF339B <The NP was previously in the Garage>

    Feeds:
    Synology DS-412+ (NAS Duties, 5.2TB used of 8.1TB current capacity)
    Zotac IQ-01 (Plex Server, i7 4770t/ 16G RAM/ 256G SSD)
    (2x) HDHomeRun Connect (OTA FEED)
    Tablo Quad (OTA 4 tuner DVR)
    ** The Shields/ NP use Google Live Channels for playback of live,
    Tablo handles DVR, Plex handles my personal library content.

    Prior to the "conversion" I ran WMC/ Xbox360/ Ceton Echo/ Cable Box via HDHR Prime.
    $400 Shields, $50 NP (on sale), $450 Tablo ($300+150 lifetime guide), $160 for 2 HDHR Connect (Already had an OTA antenna)
    (Saving $70/ mo, so I "break even" in a year and 3 months)

    $755 Zotac IQ-01, w/ 16G Ram, 250G SSD was "extra", for better performance of transcoding in Plex than what my NAS was capable of...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    #12 Kartajan, Jun 1, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2016
  14. DesiPower

    DesiPower Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14,831
    Likes Received:
    121
    Thank you! that's the type of info I was looking for, coupe of questions -

    *If I pay the $60, do I get almost instant access to the P/DVR? can I start recording by, let's say, tomorrow... ?

    * Will definitely take a look at nextpvr, sounds like what i was looking for, does it integrate with HDHR?
     
  15. Kartajan

    Kartajan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    22
    for the SD DVR, you will get a email with the link/ code. How long for the email... I don't know, I imagine that if done during "business hours" it might be quick...

    nextpvr would pull the feed from the hardware for use in "frontend" software that can integrate nextpvr (Kodi/ Emby are two that I know work, there are likely others as well)

    note that nextpvr and SD's DVR are two completely separate things, so if I was "exploring" I would try the nextpvr one first... especially since it is free...
     
  16. DesiPower

    DesiPower Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14,831
    Likes Received:
    121
    NextPVR is a stand alone program for windows and compatible with HDHR, does not need Kodi and stuff. Seems like it working, it was able to detect HDHR and tune all channels...
     
  17. Kartajan

    Kartajan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    22
    my bad... I assumed multiple clients... (you know what they say about assuming...)

    In that case, I hope nextpvr meets all your requirements/ needs!
     
  18. Raincity

    Raincity Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    8
    Use to run Kodi with next PVR and did not care for it. I now use Jriver Media Center for OTA PVR and it runs in a butter smooth glitch free interface.
     
  19. DesiPower

    DesiPower Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14,831
    Likes Received:
    121
    Does jriver interface with hdhr? Is it free?
     
  20. Kartajan

    Kartajan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    22
    JRiver is not free, but there is a "trial" available
    http://www.jriver.com/purchase.html

    I consider it to be a paid equivalent to Kodi, but someone who actually runs it may have a better/ more detailed explanation.
     
  21. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,279
    Likes Received:
    195
    The real uncertainty about any of this isn't apparent for exclusively OTA broadcasts, though. It's the damn enycrypted premium channels of cable-TV.

    So far, it looks like HDHR-DVR may show a few of them, but I wouldn't know if they're some "legacy" channels in 720p as opposed to the HD channels that are encrypted.

    But HDHR VIEW seems to otherwise be adequate for the channels that I DO get.

    You'd think that MS would be more forward working with other entities, transferring or sharing licensing, if they've already excluded WMC from Win 10 with no promise of an MS replacement for it.
     
  22. Kartajan

    Kartajan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    22
    I'm sure MS would love to get in a shared licensing deal, but the problem is likely to be how much $$$ they would ask in return....
    I am sure that the lack of an ongoing revenue stream had a lot do with why MS dropped WMC in the first place...
     
  23. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,279
    Likes Received:
    195
    And of course, you're right: this isn't just a piece of software they could refurb and add to Win 10; it has subscription aspects to provide a "TV Guide." That's the part of the cost factor which must seem unpalatable to MS or whichever arrangement SillyDust ends up with for their project.

    Once upon a time, if you wanted to change a channel, you got off the sofa, turned the TV knob a couple clicks, or you did so after consulting the newspaper's "TV guide." Fewer people subscribe to newspapers today, but the latter still provide a guide. Your cable provider gives you something like that with your STB. You'd think that there would be a range of possible solutions to all this . . .
     
  24. Kartajan

    Kartajan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    22
    Blame Rovi for "patenting" the "grid guide" (?!?, how the gxddbov do you patent a spreadsheet layout?!?!)
    That is why SD won't do a grid in their setup (to keep from getting sued), The only ones who get to do it without paying Rovi are either "a completely free service (so nothing to take a cut from)", or just not worth the expense of a lawsuit in the eyes of Rovi.
     
  25. BonzaiDuck

    BonzaiDuck Lifer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Messages:
    12,279
    Likes Received:
    195
    This has all gone totally f***nuts-crazy. I once had my STB hooked up to a tuner card, with WMC controlled via remote with little stick-on sensors connecting the STB to the remote receiver. I could record anything.

    Then we got HDCP from the Jack-Valenti-media-Nazis. I once spent a whole day trying to iron the kinks out of WMC because of HDCP. But this matter of providing a "guide" with some sort of licensing rights to Rovi -- that's insane.
     
  26. Kartajan

    Kartajan Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    22
    And this is why I went OTA. So tired of the BS. Stupid CCI flags that prevented watching live content that I paid to watch...