HD 7850 Voltage Lock

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by p_monks33, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. p_monks33

    p_monks33 Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, so I have tried 2 different cards in my HTPC and cannot control GPU voltage on either card, so I am beginning to wonder if my MB wont allow GPU voltage adjustments. Specs: P8H61-I R.2.0 with an I3 2125, 8GB Corsair 1600 Ram, And an MSI TF3 Non OC 7850, all running on a Silverstone 450w PSU. I tried to unlock voltage on a 7770 as well and thought that maybe it was the card, but now 2 cards in a row has me wondering if it is my board. I have tried drivers all the way from 12.6 to the most current 12.11, Tried afterburner 2.2 , 2.3, 2.5 , With the EULA and without, I make sure to check unlock voltage. The voltage block is just blank and the slider is all the way to the left. I have tried Trixx , and GPU Tweak. No voltage in either of those. I am stumped and feel that it must be my motherboard holding me back from a good overclock. Please anyone with advice chime in.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Voltage Lock Forum Date
    Locked voltages on Sapphire 5850 Xtreme refurbished Video Cards and Graphics Jul 1, 2015
    AMD R9 280X Voltage Lock Question Video Cards and Graphics Oct 15, 2013
    Voltage locked: GV-R787OC-2GD Video Cards and Graphics Mar 26, 2013
    7950 MSI TFIII Locked Voltage? Video Cards and Graphics Nov 1, 2012
    Which 7970 cards are not voltage locked? Video Cards and Graphics Nov 1, 2012

  3. p_monks33

    p_monks33 Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    1
    This Is the Silverstone PSU I have, I feel that it is more than adequate for the light load I am exerting on it.
     
  4. SickBeast

    SickBeast Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
    Messages:
    14,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found that I had to flash my cards to different brands in order to unlock voltage. The Asus and MSI roms worked the best. I think techpowerup has a bios database that you can use.
     
  5. p_monks33

    p_monks33 Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Sickbeast, I tried a flash on the 7770 that the MSI tech rep sent me, it had no effect. Its really eating at me that I have a card that is known for overclocking and I cant do jack squat to the voltage to get the most out of it.
     
  6. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    You are using wrong versions of MSI AB that don't include the 2 missing .dll files. No versions after 2.2.1 will work since they don't include the 2 missing dll files and no Catalysts after 12.4 I believe include them either. This is why it's not working for you.

    1. Before you do anything, go to your MSI Afterburner main folder:
    C: \Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner

    Do you have these 2 files in this folder?
    atipdl64.dll
    atipdlxx.dll


    If you do not have these 2 files, you need to download them and paste them into the main MSI Afterburner folder. The easier solution is just download MSI Afterburner 2.2.1, install it. This program includes the 2 missing dll files by default. If you wish to use newer MSI AB versions after, you can extract them and repaste them into newer MSI AB versions. For now though just use MSI AB 2.2.1 to get it to work and later you can re-install to a newer version.

    2. The next step is for you to find the MSIAfterburner.cfg file in the main MSI Afterburner folder. Take this file, cut it and paste it onto the desktop. Right click it, Open with ... Notepad.

    Drop 2 lines under the heading [ATIADLHAL]

    UnofficialOverclockingMode=1
    UnofficialOverclockingEULA=I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it


    File --> Save As --> Override the .cfg file when it asks you. Now take this file, and make sure it's still called MSIAfterburner.cfg, and paste it back into the main MSI Afterburner folder where you already have the two .dll files I outlined above.

    3. Download Asus GPU Tweak (should be able to find it in Search on Asus.com website). Once you open this program, go to Settings --> Tuning --> Tune Settings --> check mark "Overclocking range enhancement", press Apply. The screen should flash black. Now you can close Asus GPU Tweak as you don't need it again. You can go into the Main menu and disable this program from starting on boot.

    Restart the computer. Now open MSI Afterburner and the GPU voltage and all the overclocking sliders for GPU core and memory should be unlocked.
     
    #5 RussianSensation, Nov 20, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2012
  7. p_monks33

    p_monks33 Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks RS I'm at work so I will try when I get home.
     
  8. SickBeast

    SickBeast Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
    Messages:
    14,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can also try unofficial overclock mode 2 to see if that helps. Also try Asus GPU Tweak. I had the best success with that program and an Asus BIOS.
     
  9. p_monks33

    p_monks33 Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    1
    Tried all the above, couldn't get voltage control in afterburner still, I can use it in GPU Tweak, but theres no reason too because it only goes too 1050 core which I can hit stock voltage no problems. Oh well, I will just be happy with what I got.
     
  10. SickBeast

    SickBeast Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2000
    Messages:
    14,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go into the advanced options and unlock the higher clock frequencies. It should work perfect.
     
  11. jacktesterson

    jacktesterson Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5,490
    Likes Received:
    2
    whats the max voltage it allows please? id like to know
     
  12. p_monks33

    p_monks33 Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    1
    1.225 I can get it up to 1200 core on that voltage. I see no reason to go higher. Im set at 1100 for added stability. No good for much other than benchmarking
     
  13. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hate to sound like i got my tin foiled hat on Russiansensation,but do you got another source to download the older 2.2.1 msi afterburner ?

    I downloaded the source file you linked in a above post which came from msi itself and those 2 files are still missing in that folder,almost as if they took them out,looking forward to overclocking a 7970 i will be buying soon.
     
  14. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been voltage locked out of my msi tf3 7850 since i switched out my hard drive for a ssd and did a fresh format,none of the ocing programs period unlock it.

    Anyone have another source for 2.2.1 afterburner besides msi,i seriously think they deleted those files off the hosted file on purpose so i think a third party site could have a unedited file?
     
  15. jacktesterson

    jacktesterson Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5,490
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can you go beyond 1.225v with these cards?


    I luckily got a decent clocker, but I think I could go further with a tiny bit more. (I'd like to be able to do 1.24v, which Asus told me was safe when I had the Asus card, which would allow up to 1.3v. My sapphire card won't go past 1.225v no matter what I try, so assuming its some sort of bios lock. I'm at 1225 core @ 1.225v.
     
  16. l2ez4m

    l2ez4m Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would be awesome if that fix worked with the recent drivers,does not work with 12.11.

    Maybe having those two files,perhaps with Russians fix and those 2 files,it should be possible to fix.
     
  18. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine only unlocked to 1.225v as well,that was when it did unlock but heck every version of msi afterburner,gpu tweak and every known run around now won't unlock my card.:awe:

    Kinda actually pissing me off as the card really doesn't oc to well only hitting 1050/1450 and now some hidden issue obviously is jerking with me an on stock voltage it hits stock clocks,a 20mhz increase on the core and it artifacts.

    What driver version you using anyways?Using 12.11 beta 8 here.
     
  19. p_monks33

    p_monks33 Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    1
    I gave up, and just settled with the fact im not gonna overclock via afterburner. I hit 1200 core 1600 memory via Asus GPU Tweak and decided for everyday gaming 1.225v to hit 1200 is kind of dumb. I am at 1125c 1450 memory on 1.15v and cant tell much difference between FPS in the two. Maybe 1-2 frames at most.
     
  20. jacktesterson

    jacktesterson Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5,490
    Likes Received:
    2
    Same here - 12.11 Beta 8

    I've been running at 1225/1325 @ 1.225v for 2-3 weeks now without issue

    Here is a 3DMARK11 Score
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4964685

    Driver listed as unsupported due to using the beta
     
    #19 jacktesterson, Nov 30, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
  21. p_monks33

    p_monks33 Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    1
    I guess if you are just benchmarking then the added voltage would be nice, but for everyday gaming, I cant tell the difference in 1050 core and 1250 core, 5 Fps just isn't that noticeable too me I guess. Plus I am in a tiny case that is jammed full of stuff so I don't want unnecessary heat without major gains. Bigystyle are you just trying to max out a bench or are you actually needing the extra clock speed for something game wise?
     
  22. jacktesterson

    jacktesterson Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5,490
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nope

    Just tinkering. Always like to see how far I can push things
     
  23. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally figured out how to reenable voltage control,it was a major pita.

    Slapped the missing dll files into the amd driver folder,deleted the msi ab folder then after i had the latest version of gpu tweak open,this part was the kicker but when i disabled the skin under the main tab under settings and applied it as such,all of a sudden gpu tweak automatically enables the 1.225v core and i hit apply and save as profile 1.
    :awe:
    A reboot and a few adjustments and i'm smooth sailing at 1050/1450 as before but nothing under the sun would get msi ab to work period.:|

    Seriously needed that oc as i just purchased a Dell u2412m to replace a old 17'' 1440x900 monitor......Anticipating BF3 is gonna every mhz the 7850 can deliver till i purchase a new 7970 anyways.:biggrin: Sucks i could not afford both at the same time and took hours before i made up my mind which i was gonna get first.:awe:
     
  24. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Beautiful overclock you got there.

    My card simply refuses to really oc pass 1050/1450 but honestly coming from 900 preoverclocked,and all the way from 860 default bin,the oc headroom is much better then anything of recent years i believe.
     
  25. jacktesterson

    jacktesterson Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2001
    Messages:
    5,490
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks.

    I buy a lot of cards, I'm always flipping them locally, I do lose a little $ but its a hobby I enjoy. I prefer to game on a big screen, and even though I own 3 big screens, my favorite TV is my 6 year old Plasma thats only 1360x768, so its more than enough powerful for what I need.

    This is the 3rd 7850 I've had. This card's Core clocks very well, Memory not so much. I seem to get issues at 1350 and 1375, so I just left it at 1325 since Core O/C's are more important on these cards.

    I had an Asus card that would do 1310/1450, but also had a 2nd Asus 7850 that would only do 1150 Core.

    1050 will still be a really nice boost.
     
    #24 jacktesterson, Nov 30, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
  26. skipsneeky2

    skipsneeky2 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    5,037
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yeah,for 1440x900 this 7850 has been excellent but BF3 still in some maps and spots could dip into the low 50s and sometimes the 40s rarely but some maps like Metro simply refuse to dip under 60 fps bare minimum maxed out,just maps like oman and some heavy spots in Caspian when i find the dips.

    Gonna be giving my gf the 7850 as i aim to build her a tower right after i purchase a 7970,for her games its gonna be overkill so most likely will undervolt it,match it with a i3 and it will be pretty peachy.:biggrin: