Haswell Temp Readings

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by allenk09, Jun 4, 2013.

  1. allenk09

    allenk09 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got my 4770k today and I can't seem to get an accurate temperature reading from anything. I look in the bios, it's 51C at idle, stock 3.5Ghz (seems high?) atfter reseating the heatsink and reapplying paste three times to make sure I wasn't doing anything wrong. Speedfan tells me the cores are at 19C each, and the lid is 43C or 34C. Hwmonitor tells me completely different things.

    Anyone have an accurate temperature reading program for the Haswells?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Haswell Temp Readings Forum Date
    Sandy Bridge vs Haswell vs Coffee Lake [Computerbase.de] CPUs and Overclocking Dec 6, 2017
    Worth upgrading from Haswell i5-4670 to Ryzen 1700? CPUs and Overclocking May 22, 2017
    Something wrong with haswell cpus? High temps..... CPUs and Overclocking Jul 5, 2014
    Haswell i5-4670K Temps & Cooling CPUs and Overclocking Jan 29, 2014
    Haswell Temp checker CPUs and Overclocking Jun 21, 2013

  3. richierich1212

    richierich1212 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,661
    Likes Received:
    268
    Bios seems correct. Haswell temps are higher than previous gens.
     
  4. allenk09

    allenk09 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow. On my Hyper 212 Evo too. I just came from AMD and would see 26C idle all day long. Crazy.
     
  5. Ben90

    Ben90 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,866
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, Anything that tells you the PECI value directly like CoreTemp or RealTemp. Switch to Distance to TJMax and never have to worry about if your temps are legit or not.
     
  6. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    7,368
    Likes Received:
    387
  7. Batmeat

    Batmeat Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hmm.....was your AMD
     
  8. allenk09

    allenk09 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Temp gives me ~27C on the 4 cores @ 23C ambient.

    Sound right?

    Edit: Wow, with the lower level power my entire computer is pulling 88W from the wall on the Kill-A-Watt.
     
    #7 allenk09, Jun 4, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2013
  9. videogames101

    videogames101 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    6,768
    Likes Received:
    2
    sounds much better for idle, how about load?
     
  10. Hypertag

    Hypertag Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0

    AMD's processors measure temperature in a completely different manner. They are not comparable in the slightest.
     
  11. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    Use core temp and put her on full load 100 percent for 5 minutes look at the temps. gl
     
  12. allenk09

    allenk09 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will post some load results tomorrow!
     
  13. TuxDave

    TuxDave Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,577
    Likes Received:
    3
    Monitor and everything? Nice!
     
  14. JimmiG

    JimmiG Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    112
    What's the difference exactly? With my Phenom II, the max temp was 62C I believe, and mine became flaky at ~59C (using a crappy cooler). I got a Zalman cooler and got it down to 54C overclocked and it was nice and stable.

    With Intel, I've read that anything under 80C is fine :eek:
     
  15. Ares202

    Ares202 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    my I5-4670K (stock settings) with Corsair H50 cooler

    ambient room temp 24C

    idle:33c
    load:48c (~1 hour BF3)
     
  16. Jamil20

    Jamil20 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My 4670K idles around 38C and load is 65-70, and Prime95 is 90+. This is on an H60 cooler.

    Stock cooler was 50-60C idle, it was terrible.

    Is this normal?

    Edit:
    This is on stock clock
     
    #15 Jamil20, Jun 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2013
  17. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,395
    Likes Received:
    128
    Sounds high. I get around ~35C idle, ~75C with Linpack. My 3570 was 40 and 80.
     
  18. allenk09

    allenk09 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    4,2 Ghz Idle: 30C

    4.2Ghz Load:

    [​IMG]

    Hyper 212 Evo with 2 fans push/pull, Arctic Silver paste I7 4770k, G1 Sniper 5. Ambient room temp: 23C

    Vcore 1.150. Anything above 1.2V gets really hot and the 212 can't keep up. I was going for 4.4Ghz, but I couldn't get stable under 1.2V
     
    #17 allenk09, Jun 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2013
  19. moonbogg

    moonbogg Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9,653
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Time to delid?
     
  20. aigomorla

    aigomorla Cases and Cooling Mod PC Gaming Mod Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,809
    Likes Received:
    409
    haswell has issues... so far listed by people i trust..

    1. VRMs are now on the cpu..VRM's are voltage regulators... they heat up... on the board they were mosfets... u remember me tooting about having solid mosfets for high level overclocking....

    2. The IHS was not caibrated properly with the node shrink.
    This causes a gap between the IHS and node.
    The cpu is also shown to not be soldered... so the IHS is not as good as the intel metal solder used in the earilier gens.


    In short.. u got a cpu which heats up more then the previous gen at 5-10% IPC.
    Totally not acceptable in the enterprise sector which is why the enterprise sector doesnt get this cpu.

    The guys at intel knew this... its there attempt to crush the low end overclockers and limit what they can do.
    And yes i consider all desktop line low end now.... LGA1155 / LGA1150 / LGA11xx Entire...

    Intel made it clear on the X58, and X79 that enterprise will mesh into high end overclockers...
    LGA1366 / LGA2011 / LGA20XX whatever they decide to come out..


    Incase u guys are also wondering... the ONLY reason why we got a new board is because of the VRM's on the cpu.
    Yet the VRM's on the cpu is causing havok with heat issues.. but intel doesnt care... they view it as acceptable... because it will limit your overclocking...
     
    #19 aigomorla, Jun 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2013
  21. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,395
    Likes Received:
    128
    Why wouldnt the enterprise buy it? It reduces TCO more than any other solution. It got overall lower power consumption than previous, performance/watt is up. Platform complexity reduced.

    If the CPU is 70C, 80C or 85C doesnt matter when the tjmax is 100C.

    I am sure we could all agree it could be better at x, y, z. But its still better than previous.
     
    #20 ShintaiDK, Jun 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2013
  22. Beavermatic

    Beavermatic Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Makes me wonder if my h100 is compatible with haswell/socket 1150
     
  23. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,395
    Likes Received:
    128
    It should be. Same mounting holes etc as LGA1155.
     
  24. aigomorla

    aigomorla Cases and Cooling Mod PC Gaming Mod Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,809
    Likes Received:
    409
    Intel has said they will not release it for the full bloated enterprise sector.

    Having chips that heat up more can bring a blade system which has boards stacked more problems.
    The fans would also need to be ramped higher which also can also bring more problems..
    Its not a IT solution win to go on haswell if this is what were seeing.
     
  25. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    7,368
    Likes Received:
    387
    All chips from Microcenter with the same batch # (L307B239, which is all they seem to have).
    All the chips below were OCed with Speedstep disabled, fixed / non-adaptive Vcore, automatic/default voltages (except Vcore), DDR3 1866, 3.9GHz uncore and 100 - 101MHz BCLK.
    Voltages reported are values under IBT load. No memtest86+ errors. Considered stable if it makes it through 100 passes of IBT (will follow up with 24 hour Prime95 runs later).

    Chip 1 : 4.55GHz 1.24V (CPU-Z), 1.247V (measured)
    Chip 2 : 4.55GHz 1.241V (CPU-Z), 1.249V (measured)
    Chip 3 : 4.6GHz 1.25V (CPU-Z), 1.256V (measured)
    Chip 4 : 4.35GHz 1.242V (CPU-Z), 1.253V (measured)

    No worries. Same mounting hole config as 1155.
     
  26. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,395
    Likes Received:
    128
    So we are not talking desktop chips? Single socket Xeons like this?
    http://ark.intel.com/products/75057/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E3-1280-v3-8M-Cache-3_60-GHz

    I can assure you that you can find Haswell Xeons in blades soon, if not already.
    http://www.redorbit.com/news/techno...t-density-server-solutions-with-coming-intel/

    Cooling is not a problem either. Servers already contain jet fans that can run up to 15000rpm.
     
    #25 ShintaiDK, Jun 5, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2013