Hassle-free upgrade?

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by fustercluck, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. fustercluck

    fustercluck Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Getting some new computer parts, and my old computer parts I'll be giving to someone else in desperate need of an upgrade (their computer is super slow). They want everything else (such as programs and settings) how it is now, just not running extremely sluggish. Basically I gotta upgrade/switch out their cpu/mobo/ram while keeping their OS/Programs/Settings and everything intact.

    I don't know how I can achieve that. Plus it's going from an AMD system to an Intel system which could make things a little trickier, or maybe not. They are running XP.

    Trying to keep the upgrade as hassle free (for them and me) as possible.
     
  2. Loading...


  3. Deders

    Deders Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,401
    Likes Received:
    1
    Unfortunately it is usually the disk that is the slowest link in the chain, as the OS demands more from it, the more work it has to do, the more the heads move and the more the data queues up. Moving it to another system or even disk wouldn't really help matters, unless the hardware is already really out of date. If it would fit onto an SSD on the other had, things would be very different.

    The other issue is that XP's licensing wouldn't allow you to change too much hardware, although you may be able to get around that with a call to Microsoft, depending on whether the version of XP installed on the system was a retail version with a disk or on an OEM License only to be installed on the one machine.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microsoft_Product_Activation

    What hardware is already in the system and what do you intend to upgrade it to?

    Also what does the system get used for?
     
    #2 Deders, Dec 18, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2012
  4. Smoove910

    Smoove910 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you able to make an image of your disc, assemble all your new hardware, then add the image to the new drive? Not sure since I have never tried it.
     
  5. fustercluck

    fustercluck Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah that doesn't sound hassle free, as I expected it can't be done! I'll see what I can do.