Has anyone tried the Asrock AB350M?

bbdare

Junior Member
Apr 28, 2017
1
0
11
I'm looking at the Asrock AB350M motherboard on Newegg, and it seems to be a great-looking motherboard with a decent amount of features, at only about $72.99. Has anyone actually tried it out, and is it any good? I can't find any reviews on Youtube, and there is only one on Newegg.
 

alexruiz

Platinum Member
Sep 21, 2001
2,753
399
126
It is a very solid board.
I have used it, and it is indeed a solid board.
Frequent UEFI updates also.
 

bononos

Diamond Member
Aug 21, 2011
3,773
91
91
Its a basic board, less fan control, no USB3 gen2. Its got more phases than its competitors but does not use doubler ic's.
 

MadOver

Member
Sep 1, 2016
58
7
36
Pretty decent board, you cannot go wrong. Just check if there's any features missing that you might want.
 

Ratman6161

Senior member
Mar 21, 2008
616
75
91
Pretty decent board, you cannot go wrong. Just check if there's any features missing that you might want.
There is also the AB350M Pro4 which ups the features a bit and its only $7 more on NewEgg. I'm using the full ATX pro4 with an R5 16oo and have had excellent results with it.
 

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
53,497
7,832
126
I just installed an ASRock AB350M Pro4 today, with a Ryzen 5 1600. Works fine, my Team Dark DDR4-2400 works fine at full speed, when setting XMP Profile 1, after flashing the 2.40 UEFI.
 

oliwer21

Junior Member
Jun 8, 2017
1
0
1
Hi. Have you problem whey i chose manual Frequency and voltage of vcore, cpu dont lower multiplier on low load.
Do you have same issue?
 

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
53,497
7,832
126
Hi. Have you problem whey i chose manual Frequency and voltage of vcore, cpu dont lower multiplier on low load.
Do you have same issue?
This is known. When using "overclock" mode to set freq. and voltage, "Cool 'N Quiet", "Precision Boost", and "XFR" are automatically disabled.
 

Dakisan

Junior Member
Dec 13, 2017
6
0
1
I just installed an ASRock AB350M Pro4 today, with a Ryzen 5 1600. Works fine, my Team Dark DDR4-2400 works fine at full speed, when setting XMP Profile 1, after flashing the 2.40 UEFI.
Hi @VirtualLarry, I have just bought the same combo of board and cpu. Unfortunately in the 20y since I last assembled a PC a lot changed, esp in the cooling dept!

I ended up with a "cooler Master hyper 212 led", but sadly despite specs seemingly compatible, the cooler simply does not fit the pattern of the cpu bracket. Thing.

Can I ask what cooler you used, and what others might be compatible in your experience (in case you chose a diamond encrusted version!)

Many thanks
Pete
 

Topweasel

Diamond Member
Oct 19, 2000
5,415
1,606
136
Hi @VirtualLarry, I have just bought the same combo of board and cpu. Unfortunately in the 20y since I last assembled a PC a lot changed, esp in the cooling dept!

I ended up with a "cooler Master hyper 212 led", but sadly despite specs seemingly compatible, the cooler simply does not fit the pattern of the cpu bracket. Thing.

Can I ask what cooler you used, and what others might be compatible in your experience (in case you chose a diamond encrusted version!)

Many thanks
Pete
Cooler Master has an upgrade kit for AM4

http://www.coolermaster.com/amd-am4-ryzen-compatability/en/
 
  • Like
Reactions: VirtualLarry

Dakisan

Junior Member
Dec 13, 2017
6
0
1
Yes, I've seen it. Unfortunately it lists the 212 LED as having "out of the box compatibility" which, ref the above, is incorrect. The cooler Master forum posts I've seen about this include worryingly vague responses from them. Send photos. Photos? How about specs!

Hence my asking what specific cooler is working for Larry.
 

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
53,497
7,832
126
It does say in the description no heatsink fan.
Then you probably bought a stolen CPU. A scam is to buy a retail box CPU, and then return the package, with a faked CPU inside the package. I'm not aware of AMD selling OEM CPUs ("tray") through retail dealers like Intel does.
 

Campy

Senior member
Jun 25, 2010
785
171
116
AMD "X" SKUs 1600X 1700X and 1800X come without coolers much like Intel "K" SKUs
 

Dakisan

Junior Member
Dec 13, 2017
6
0
1
Mine is indeed the X varietal.

The other type, with cooler, is described only as shipping with a wraith spire. But no further spec. So then off down the wraith spire rabbit hole I go, discovering there are many types, none of which can be seen to fit the ASRock am350 motherboard.

I found this pic which shows the clip layout. https://goo.gl/images/WNn6Vh
 

VirtualLarry

No Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
53,497
7,832
126
My bad, but you did initially say that you bought the SAME boards and CPU I did... I bought 1600 CPUs. Which come with heatsinks.
 

Dakisan

Junior Member
Dec 13, 2017
6
0
1
No problem. We are closing in :)

Does the heatsink on yours have a model I'd or something more specific than "wraith spire", so I can see if I can buy it separately.

Thanks
 

Dakisan

Junior Member
Dec 13, 2017
6
0
1
No problem. We are closing in :)

Does the heatsink on yours have a model ID or something more specific than "wraith spire", so I can see if I can buy it separately.

Thanks
 

Campy

Senior member
Jun 25, 2010
785
171
116

ASK THE COMMUNITY