Has anyone tried RadeonPro for microstuttering?

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by wand3r3r, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. wand3r3r

    wand3r3r Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - RadeonPro microstuttering Forum Date
    Microstuttering when playing back blu-rays and MKV files Video Cards and Graphics Mar 3, 2015
    Why do certain games work in RadeonPro for other people but not me? Video Cards and Graphics Jan 1, 2015
    What is the Nvidia equivalent to RadeonPro? Video Cards and Graphics Dec 13, 2014
    Alternative to RadeonPro Video Cards and Graphics Mar 21, 2014
    RadeonPro -AMD's version of Shadowplay? Video Cards and Graphics Oct 30, 2013

  3. SirPauly

    SirPauly Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    5,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    That example looks impressive.
     
  4. boxleitnerb

    boxleitnerb Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's a framerate cap. How else would the frametime values be so constant? So it really isn't anything new, this was possible years ago with Dxtory, Bandicam etc.

    Obviously, scaling suffers with this. In the beginning of my SLI days I employed a limiter too, but now I don't because the compromise is too severe.
     
  5. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not just a frame cap there buddy. It is also even frame distibution. Not the same thing.

    I have crossfire 7970's. When I get home, after I feed the animals, beat the wife and kid, I'm going to try this out and report back. I'm very sensitive to microstutter and always looking to minimize it's appearance.
     
  6. felang

    felang Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is this the same as Nvidia Adaptive VSYNC?
     
  7. boxleitnerb

    boxleitnerb Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know why, but it is the same thing. When I experience microstutter and I employ an fps limiter, the result is exactly the same. Even frametimes, no microstutter. I know it doesn't make sense, but I guess the framerate limiters have some distribution or timing function built in already.
     
  8. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    So this appears to require limiting your FPS to some value below 60?

    As an owner of a 120hz monitor, that would not be acceptable in any way. I try to keep my FPS pegged at 120 whenever possible. So far I've found adaptive Vsync to be very useful in this regard.
     
  9. wand3r3r

    wand3r3r Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    No that's not how it works.
     
  10. DiogoDX

    DiogoDX Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    5
    You have 2 diferent features: DVC (adaptavie vsync) e DFC (frame cap)

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=322031
     
  11. VulgarDisplay

    VulgarDisplay Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,195
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've been wondering about this too. That review showed it outperforming Nvidia's Frame Metering in SLi. Which is actually good for both camps because this is a software solution so I'm sure someone will get something similar going in SLi.
     
  12. exar333

    exar333 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    8,514
    Likes Received:
    5
    Not to start a flame war, but leave it to AMD to rely on a third-party to solve the issue. They should really build something like this into a real driver release. Even though there isn't an 'AMD' 7990, this would still be a big help for those with 7970 and 7950 CF setups. The results speak for themselves, and I wonder how many people have no idea this exists. I just heard about it when reading the same review the OP linked to.
     
  13. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to test out your theory, I will use Afterburner tonight and employ a frame limiter and post my objective results
     
  14. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    AMD does kind of blow when it comes to support. I have a lot more faith in their actual hardware though. You know how many nVidia cards I have baked back to life? ;)
     
  15. Bryf50

    Bryf50 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    49
    Wow. This looks great. Can't wait to try it out.
     
  16. Final8ty

    Final8ty Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    13
    Most AMD users do know it exists and Nvinspector is also third-party.
     
  17. Phynaz

    Phynaz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,829
    Likes Received:
    623
    Most? Not a chance.

    Some enthusiasts, sure.
     
  18. sontin

    sontin Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,054
    Likes Received:
    17
    It's exactly the same thing. What do you think is limiting the frames to a number under the full performance? Right a "even frame distibution" because the gpus are not the limiting factor.
     
  19. Final8ty

    Final8ty Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    13
    The link to It has been on AMDs site for years and the reason the author has taken it up again is because AMD is sponsoring him..

    There has not been a single enthusiasts forum i that i go to that does not have threads about it and im talking about enthusiasts as others don't know there ass from there elbows and they would not know how to use it anyway.
    The same goes for Nvinspector, Afterburner, ext cc these enthusiasts tools.
     
    #18 Final8ty, Nov 8, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2012
  20. SPBHM

    SPBHM Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Messages:
    4,402
    Likes Received:
    129
    I only have a single card, but I also used a framerate limit to have smoother gameplay in some occasions, using dxtory, or years ago "FPS limiter 2.0"
     
  21. cmdrdredd

    cmdrdredd Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2001
    Messages:
    25,495
    Likes Received:
    79
    I'm sorry but limiting your framerate because you get microstutter is unacceptable. Now Nvidia doesn't have 100% elimination of micro stutter in SLI but it's a ton better than AMD without limiting your fps. This solution is not good enough IMO.
     
  22. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no problem limiting my frame rate if it is above what my monitor can display. What is the purpose of 150 fps if you can't see them?
     
  23. omeds

    omeds Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's a frame rate cap. This method has always cleaned up microstutter fairly well, either by using in game console commands, inspector (Nv), and now radeon pro for AMD.

    Use a 125fps cap for 120hz :thumbsup:
     
  24. exar333

    exar333 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    8,514
    Likes Received:
    5
    This.

    It SHOULD be an option for the card in the official driver. The fact that you need a third party is ridiculous. Kudos to the author for making it, but shame on AMD for slacking on not making it available for everyone.
     
  25. boxleitnerb

    boxleitnerb Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    In the beginning of my SLI days I would have disagreed, being overly enthusiastic about minimized microstutter. Now I agree. You would have to set the limit to your lowest fps, otherwise it won't work all the time. That simply destroys scaling.

    But there is one exception:
    If you're playing with vsync anyway and still get stutter, you could limit to 60fps which can also help.
     
  26. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    a hah hah hah hah haaaaaa yes!!!! Just ran crysis 2 maxed out @2560 with crossfire 7970's with zero detectable microstutter (to me anyways). Just used a simple frame cap in Afterburner and voila!!!!! Finally after all these years of me bashing multi gpu I will actually start recommeding it. I am a believer. I'm actually going to go back and fire up some of my old rigs to see if this will work for them too.