Has anyone oc'ed barton 2500 with stock HSF and by how much?

momento

Jun 4, 2003
I am new at oc. I have oc'ed the 2500 to 2.1ghz with stock HSF. After 2 hours of gaming, the temp on chip is around 55 degree celcius. I am hesitant to overclock any further due the risk that the chip might just die on me.

Anyone has tried something like this? (i undestand enthusiasts will definitely buy better HSF. I am just wondering the possibility of oc'ing with stock HSF.)

Thanks

specs:retail 2500+, 8rda+, 1g pc 2700 kingston

momento

Jun 4, 2003
Originally posted by: nick1985
OCing 2500 with retail HSF = ERtarded

The answer is a simple yes or no. Yours is no where near helpful.

Thanks CastorTr0y for the info. Appreciate it.

momento

blade

1957 - 2008<br>Elite Moderator Emeritus<br>Troll H
Oct 9, 1999
If you go through the listing on cpudatabase then you'll see several said they overclocked just fine using stock cooling. Highest being @ 2400.

So I believe your answer is yes. But temps might be a bit higher than you want. Myself, I don't like anything past 50c.

rocketbubba

Golden Member
Jul 26, 2001
I just bought the same chip and I'm using the stock HSF for now. Mine's running around 52C under load and it's not OC'd, so 55C while OC'd to 2.1 doesn't sound all that bad. But I wouldn't push it further until you get some better cooling.

Jadow

Diamond Member
Feb 12, 2003
I bought retail too, because it was on sale at newegg! With the retails, the HSF comes glued on right?

momento

Jun 4, 2003
Originally posted by: Jadow
I bought retail too, because it was on sale at newegg! With the retails, the HSF comes glued on right?

Yeap, HSF comes with some sort of glue/thermal compound.

Dustswirl

May 30, 2002
Phase changing TIM ;) it's not as good as ASI/II/III and other ceramic stuff but it's better then nothing :D