Harmon Kardon 1700

Discussion in 'Audio/Video & Home Theater' started by spacejamz, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. spacejamz

    spacejamz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    8,941
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just picked up one of the last ones in my area (according to the Best Buy inventory checker) for $199...mentioned on both Fatwallet and Slick Deals so they all probably gone now...but alot of people are getting open box deals...not sure if that is a good sign or not...

    Bought using my AMEX for additional warranty coverage....

    Overall, pretty amazed at this receiver...great sound and features at an amazing price...only knock is no HDMI pass through but not a big deal for me...

    Has a digital power supply so the receiver weighs less than 13 lbs...

    http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Harman+K...&skuId=6087397
     
  2. Childs

    Childs Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    11,331
    Likes Received:
    2
    I bought one of these as well for my PC. Works well enough, but I only use optical output and sometimes the Harmon Headphone surround mode.
     
  3. gus6464

    gus6464 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    2
    People were complaining about the weight of the unit but little did they realize that it has a digital switching PSU so it's not going to weigh that much. At $199 with Airplay and Logic 7 it's a pretty nice deal.
     
  4. Aikouka

    Aikouka Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    26,981
    Likes Received:
    1
    I picked one up as well. I've been wanting to get a new TV in my bedroom, and I'd like to get a passive 3D one. Well, the problem is that my Denon AVR-1610 doesn't handle 3D! I don't care much about using Audessey in my bedroom, so the lack of it isn't a big deal. I haven't had a chance to set it up yet, but the only negative things that I could think of would be no HDMI on the front (really just a novelty, but nice) and no video upconversion, which means it won't output component/composite/etc over HDMI.

    EDIT:

    Although, everything I have uses HDMI, so the lack of upconversion isn't a big deal either. I mostly like the fact that it has AirPlay since I stopped using my hacked AppleTV in lieu of a real HTPC.
     
  5. gar655

    gar655 Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually it will output component etc... out through HDMI just in its native format. At least my older HK 1600 does. It passes through all video unmolested which is actually better anyway unless you can afford a very expensive pre/pro with a top of the line video processor.
     
  6. s44

    s44 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Messages:
    9,326
    Likes Received:
    0
    Main downside is the lack of Audyssey. Good deal otherwise or if you want an old-school (no correction) AVR.
     
  7. Aikouka

    Aikouka Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    26,981
    Likes Received:
    1
    I finally got around to hooking it up today, and I must say... the control scheme is definitely a lot different than my Denon receivers. I'm also not sure if it's indicative of an issue, but I got the receiver to freak out on me. I went from my PS3 to an input with nothing active and back to the PS3, and the PS3s output just kept flashing in and out. All I had to do to fix it was switch to another source and back to the PS3, so it wasn't something too terrible.

    I also wish that it had a Quick Select feature like my Denon remote does. Since HDMI inputs tend to be assigned to random sources, it's nice to simply assign them to a quick select in an order that you remember (1: PS3, 2: HTPC, 3: 360). Fortunately, it's not too bad if I just keep in mind that it's the first three buttons (in that same order) excluding AVR and TV. It is also weird that when I hit a source button, I then had to hit AVR again to open the AVR menu. I'm guessing it's allowing for HDMI-CEC by requiring you to do that. Oh, and a little got'cha... you use the OSD button to open the options/settings menu not the Options button!

    EDIT:

    Oh, and since it doesn't come with a printed owner's manual, here's the link from Harmon Kardon: http://manuals.harman.com/HK/Owner's Manual/AVR1700_OM_EN.pdf
     
  8. Number1

    Number1 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    7,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Other then the lack of a sophisticated speaker calibration system like Audyssey it looks like a terrific deal. How do you like the Logic 7 mode?
     
  9. Childs

    Childs Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    11,331
    Likes Received:
    2
    It has its own version called EzSet/EQ, and it comes with its own calibration mic. I cant vouch for it, but it should be better than nothing.
     
  10. spacejamz

    spacejamz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2003
    Messages:
    8,941
    Likes Received:
    2
    it does have a oddysey like system to calibrate the speakers...haven't had a chance to fully play with it though...I hooked up my ps3, lg blu ray player and 360 to it with HDMI cables and connected the audio of my direct tv received via coax to make sure they work...

    I will have some time this weekend to shake everything else out...
     
  11. Aikouka

    Aikouka Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    26,981
    Likes Received:
    1
    I started the EzSet process, but it was a tad bit loud, so I think I'll do it when my neighbor doesn't appear to be around. :p

    Out of curiosity, does anyone else use HDMI Control with it (it's called "HDMI Link" in the settings)? I have it turned on, and when I turn my TV (LG 47LM4700) off, it turns the receiver off. That sounds right, but when you turn the TV on, the receiver doesn't turn on. On my downstairs setup (Mitsubishi WD65C9 + Denon AVR 2112ci), turning the TV on or off also attempts to do the same with the receiver. Just... don't turn the receiver on prior to turning the TV on. That leads to a rather amusing constant power cycling of the receiver. :p

    So, has anyone else tried that, and saw that it works? I don't know if I need to tweak something in my setup!
     
  12. Aikouka

    Aikouka Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    26,981
    Likes Received:
    1
    I ran EzSet, and I thought it was loud at first? Holy crap, that thing is LOUD. I mean... I've run Audyssey on my Denon receiver, and it just makes a bunch of bleep noises that sounds like you're playing an old arcade game, but this? I plugged my ears, and it was still quite audible! Unfortunately, I already watched Dredd last night (to test out the 3D), so I'll need something else to test out the EQ settings.

    EDIT:

    One thing that I forgot to note is that unlike MultiEQ XT, this only seems to have a single listening point.
     
    #12 Aikouka, Jan 19, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2013