Hard drive will not format! Hard drive is password protected!

adubz1

Jul 14, 2004
I have a 12 GB IBM laptop hard drive. Apparently this hard drive has a built in password and because it has a built in password it will not let me format, delete the partition, or do anything for that matter. I did some research on the internet and there is only 1 company in the United States that can get it off but for a PRICE. I've been a technician for 5 years now and have never seen this before. Please can some PC GURU tell me how I can format this hard drive or get this password off???

Thank you,
Al

Aleksandar

May 31, 2004
never heard of a hdd with a password on it am a tech 4 5 years to
maby you can see if there is a jumper on the hdd to disable it or something
maby you can get a low level format program form the hdd maker maxtor western digital or whatever it is

redbeard1

Diamond Member
Dec 12, 2001
Have you tried IBM/Hitachi's utility to erase the drive? Otherwise you might track down DBAN and try his wipe.

I swear I've seen this before, and it had to do with the drive not being seen properly by the system.

TallCoolOne

Apr 3, 2004
Try booting from a linux installation CD and see if that will let you reformat. You can just exit the installation after the reformat step.

PrincessGuard

Golden Member
Feb 5, 2001
Some drives are indeed password-protected so that you cannot access them at all without entering the key. Booting from CD or floppy and trying to format won't work because access is either controlled by the BIOS or the hard drive controller itself.

Try:
- Putting the drive in another system.
- http://rockbox.haxx.se/lock.html
- Giving up and thanking the ATA group for this wonderful feature.

23skidoo

Golden Member
Jul 14, 2002
Have you tried booting to the IBM/Hitachi Drive Fitness Test boot floppy and then doing a complete low-level format of the drive? That should take care of it.

Fern

Elite Member
Sep 30, 2003