Hades Canyon NUC for a console user

KrzanBit

Jun 23, 2018
Hello there
I've been using consoles my whole life , but I'd like for that to change (30fps at 1080pmedium is boring ) , after doing some research and watching a few reviews I think I found my perfect console killer the Hades Canyon NUC with 8809G , it's pretty expensive though and I'd like to ask a few questions if possible
1.Is the fact that's it's a quadcore with Hyperthreading a bottleneck at my desired settings 1080p60 high/ultra?
2.Can the vega m GH push that kind of settings at 60 fps?
3.Is 4gb hbm2 enough for 1080p gaming?
4.Will I be fine with 16gb of ram and a 256 nvme ssd?
Anyways I just wanted to ask this here as I'm very new to pc gaming and I honestly have no idea what I'm doing . Thanks in advance

compcons

Platinum Member
Oct 22, 2004
You may want to look at mini-itx systems or roll your own. With a slightly larger case, you could squeeze in a true discreet PCI-express graphics card. PC gaming allows the flexibility to upgrade your components over time and use the latest and greatest hardware. A 3 or 4 generation old processor can still play games fine when paired with a newer graphics card.

That NUC is a whole lot of money and I would guess you could build a really impressive machine with only a slightly larger footprint.

KrzanBit

Jun 23, 2018
You may want to look at mini-itx systems or roll your own. With a slightly larger case, you could squeeze in a true discreet PCI-express graphics card. PC gaming allows the flexibility to upgrade your components over time and use the latest and greatest hardware. A 3 or 4 generation old processor can still play games fine when paired with a newer graphics card.

That NUC is a whole lot of money and I would guess you could build a really impressive machine with only a slightly larger footprint.

Yep , but a NUC is basically plug and play like a console.

Feb 25, 2011

Nah. You want to join the PCMR, go all in. ;-)