Graphics Card for Gaming

g3n3ticlyg3nius

Feb 26, 2013
I am not sure if this is the right place .. but I guess it says Videos and Graphic cards.. so I'm gonna go on a hunch here and say it is...

The thing is I have just started playing video games a while back. I am a nOOB when it comes to this.

I started playing crysis , metro and other heavy ended games. It was all fine at my 1920 x 1080p monitor.

But recently I upgraded to a 2560 x 1440p monitor. Now I am used to ultra settings everywhere. But I was shocked at the performance hit that the games took at that resolution.

I feel like a GPU upgrade was the only sane option for me. i love all the eye candy and Im NOT willing to compromise on turning AA off or anything.

I have a Sapphire Radeon OC 7950 3GB

Now tell me what avenue should i pursue to improve gaming performance?

1. I have heard about ARES II and GTx Titan. While monetary cost is not the issue, I do want a graphics card that will last me at least 1 year or more.

The fact that I brought my 7950 just 6 months back is hurting me now. Don't want that mistake again.

2. Gtx 690 is my second option. Once again, I want to be sure that this card lasts me at least 01 year on every game, at that setting with all the eye candy turned on.

Crysis 3 looks very mean on the GPU at the moment, and I'm not sure which cards could pull it off.

3. I could always add another Sapphire Card for quarter of the price, but once again, I'm skeptical about cross firing abilities of most games and the micro stutter.

Budget : 1500 dollars the price of Asus Ares II

What I want to know is ,

1. Which card to buy ?

2. And will spending on Gtx Titan or Asus Ares II gonna last me at least a year?

3. Is it better to wait for next generation of cards and stop gaming for a while ?

My PC specs :

core i7 3770k
Asus Maximus V formula
Corsair GS 800W
Corsair Dominator GT 16 gb@ 2133 Mhz.
Corsair H100 liquid cooling
Corsair 600T special white edition